Library Chat
Chat with a Librarian
Online Quick Links
Find Print & eBooks:
Find Articles & eJournals
Doctor of Nursing Practice Scholarly Project: a Framework for Success
The Doctor of Nursing Practice Project: a Framework for Success by
The Doctor of Nursing Practice Project: A Framework for Success, Fourth Edition provides a road map and toolkit for students to use on their DNP scholarly project journey, starting from conception through completion and dissemination. With a focus on key information for planning, implementing, and evaluating a project, the text also emphasizes the impact that DNP-prepared nurses and well-developed DNP projects have in shaping the future of nursing and healthcare.The Fourth Edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to incorporate the new AACN Essentials and provides greater clarity on the current state of DNP project work. This practical resource features new content on sustainability, knowledge networks, sequential projects, the need for business acumen, financial analysis and implications, the need to work with stakeholders, as well as the need to use data to validate the problem. The Doctor of Nursing Practice Project: A Framework for Success, Fourth Edition ensures that nurses are not simply told to contribute to healthcare transformation, but rather they are guided to know how.
ISBN: 9781284255447Publication Date: 2023-03-01
The Doctor of Nursing Practice by
The Doctor of Nursing Practice A Guidebook for Role Development and Professional Issues, Fifth Edition remains the most comprehensive guide for both role and career development for the DNP student and professional. It continues to be the go-to resource for those pursuing a DNP degree and starting their career. As with previous editions, the hallmark feature of the Fifth Edition is its accessible and easy-to-read approach enabling it to serve as both an educational resource for students as well as professional reference for years to follow. Faculty and students will appreciate the wealth of content and learning resources packed into this guide including comprehensive chapter overviews, interviews with practicing DNP's and leaders such as such as Carolyn Williams PhD, RN, FAAN DNP Co-founder and Dean Judy Didion of Oakland University School of Nursing, case scenarios, and more! New content including the new AACN Essentials document and how the new competencies are related to role developmentNew chapter on relationship building and the DNP Discussion of the growth and impact of social media and apps on the DNP role Exploration of the impact of COVID-19 on nursing and technologyA thorough discussion of the DNP degree past, present, and future including in-depth content relating the new AACN Essentials document to the future of nursing education and practice
ISBN: 9781284233155Publication Date: 2021-09-29
Research Resources
Search for nursing articles in these databases:
- CINAHL This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database of full-text nursing and allied health journals and other health literature. - PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Largest biomedical database. Watch PubMed for Nurses (orange icon) to learn how to search it for nursing resources. - ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of nursing and allied health resources.
Search for articles in these databases:
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text, evidence-based decision support for healthcare providers. - EBSCO Databases This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multiple subject databases covering education, psychology, religion, sociology, and allied health - PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.
Search for clinical tools in these databases:
- Lexicomp This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Lexicomp Online is a collection of clinical databases and clinical decision support tools that provides users with an extensive medical library. - Lippincott Advisor This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Clinical support database that includes diagnosis/treatment tools, care planning, patient teaching and quality and safety initiatives. - Lippincott Procedures This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Clinical database that provides access to evidence-based procedures and skills in a variety of medical specialty settings.
Have Questions? Watch the database tutorials (orange icons) and then contact the library for searching assistance.
- AHRQ: Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality's (AHRQ) mission is to produce evidence to make health care safer, higher quality, more accessible, equitable, and affordable, and to work within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and with other partners to make sure that the evidence is understood and used.
- ECRI Guidelines Trust
- This link opens in a new window
Create a free account to access the repository of clinical practice guidelines. - USPSTF (U.S. Preventive Services Task Force)The USPSTF is an independent panel of non-Federal experts in prevention and evidence-based medicine and is composed of primary care providers. The USPSTF conducts scientific evidence reviews of a broad range of clinical preventive health care services and develops recommendations for primary care clinicians and health systems. These recommendations are published in the form of "Recommendation Statements."
- Morbidity and Mortality Weekly ReportWeekly reports of state-reported disease and mortality statistics from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).
- CDC (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention)Find reliable health and safety information topics from the CDC's A-Z index.
- HealthfinderNonprofit health and human services information from the National Institute of Health.
- Healthy PeopleGovernment website that outlines national health objectives and related statistics.
- National Institute of Nursing ResearchGovernment website supporting basic and clinical research in nursing with grants and program information.
- SafetylitSafety and prevention database.
- WHO (World Health Organization)The United Nations specialized agency website for international health reports with listings arranged alphabetically by country.
For APA and Writing Support Services, contact the Academic Resource Center at 614-234-2539 oracademicresources@mccn.edu.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by
The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style. With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages, it is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process-from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make an impact with their work. The seventh edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect best practices in scholarly writing and publishing. All formats are in full color, with a new tabbed spiral version Improved ease of navigation, with many additional numbered sections to help users quickly locate answers to their questions Resources for students on writing and formatting annotated bibliographies, response papers, and other paper types as well as guidelines on citing course materials Dedicated chapter for new users of APA Style covering paper elements and format, including sample papers for both professional authors and student writers New chapter on journal article reporting standards that includes updates to reporting standards for quantitative research and the first-ever qualitative and mixed methods reporting standards in APA Style New chapter on bias-free language guidelines for writing about people with respect and inclusivity in areas including age, disability, gender, participation in research, race and ethnicity, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, and intersectionality More than 100 new reference examples covering periodicals, books, audiovisual media, social media, webpages and websites, and legal resources More than 40 new sample tables and figures Expanded guidance on ethical writing and publishing practices, including how to ensure the appropriate level of citation, avoid plagiarism and self-plagiarism, and navigate the publication process Guidelines that support accessibility for all users, including simplified reference, in-text citation, and heading formats as well as additional font options
ISBN: 9781433832154Publication Date: 2019-10-01
- Mount Carmel IRBMount Carmel's Office of Research Affairs Website