Have Questions?
Chat with a Librarian
Quick Links
Access eJournals:
Find Print & eBooks:
eBooks
To find eBooks:
- Step 1: Search your topic in the OPAL Catalog.
- Step 2: Select "EBOOK" as Material Type
- Step 3: Select "MOUNT CARMEL" as Collection and click "Search."
- Step 4: Click on "Connect to" to open the eBook.
Below is a sampling of Sports Medicine eBooks:
Complications in Orthopaedics: Sports Medicine by
One of the hallmarks of a master surgeon is the ability to navigate a wide variety of inevitable difficult situations in surgery, whether errors in judgment, technical mistakes, or unavoidable outcomes. Complications in Orthopaedic Surgery is a new series designed to provide real-world guidance on recognizing and avoiding errors, as well as how to "course-correct" during surgery. In this inaugural volume dedicated to sports medicine surgery, series editor Dr. Stephen R. Thompson and Dr. Matthew Schmitz describe and demonstrate practical solutions that are integral to improving patient outcomes. Covers a wide variety of procedures, including meniscus repair and transplantation, revision ACL reconstruction, pediatric ACL surgery, cartilage surgery in adults and children, knee osteotomies, acromioclavicular surgery, hip arthroscopy, and much more. Describes and offers solutions to the most common or most devastating errors and complications in the practice of sports medicine surgery, combining the breadth of knowledge of academic surgeons with the in-the-trenches skills of community surgeons. Uses an easy-to-follow, standardized chapter format that covers preoperative errors, intraoperative issues, and postoperative complications. Includes procedural video clips to reinforce discussions in the text. Features a full-color design with numerous photographs, radiographs, and illustrations. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323545983Publication Date: 2020-10-20
Essential Sports Medicine by
Sports medicine is a popular medical sub-specialty. Sports medicine certainly overlaps with general musculoskeletal medicine, but there are important differences to be aware of. This book provides comprehensive, pertinent information about sports medicine so that the busy clinician can find it accessible and practical. Medical students, residents, and fellows will find the book useful for providing an accessible overview of the most salient points in the field of sports medicine.
ISBN: 9783030643157Publication Date: 2021-04-03
Ultrasound Guided Musculoskeletal Procedures in Sports Medicine by
Ultrasound Guided Musculoskeletal Procedures in Sports Medicine: A Practical Atlas provides the support practitioners need based on practical, first-hand experience of a Sports and Exercise Medicine Physician who trained in musculoskeletal sonography. Over the years, and with much practice, the lessons learned and techniques developed are summarized with relevant pictures that guide those undertaking the procedure. As musculoskeletal ultrasound forms an important tool for physicians working in this field of medicine, this book helps physicians provide increasing expectation for patients who want a safe, guided procedure when clinically warranted. While an understanding of ultrasound imaging is essential prior to ultrasound guided procedures, there are few practical guides that provide practicing clinicians with a quick reference when faced with a procedure. This book fills that void.
ISBN: 9780323910149Publication Date: 2021-06-14
Netter's Sports Medicine by
With comprehensive, highly visual coverage designed for sports clinicians, team physicians, sports medicine fellows, primary care physicians, and other health care professionals who provide care to athletes and active individuals, Netter's Sports Medicine, 3rd Edition, is an ideal resource for everyday use. Editors include three past presidents of the American Medical Society for Sports Medicine, it includes contributions from world-renowned experts as well as a rich illustration program with many classic paintings by Frank H. Netter, MD. From Little League to professional sports, weekend warriors to Olympic champions, and backcountry mountainside to the Super Bowl field, this interdisciplinary reference is indispensable in the busy outpatient office, in the training room, on the sidelines, and in preparation for sports medicine board certification. More than 1,000 superb Netter graphics, tables, figures, pictures, diagnostic images, and other medical artwork highlight easy-to-read, bulleted text. New coverage of esports, as well as other key topics such as travel considerations for the athlete, EKG interpretation, cardiac disease, diagnostic imaging and ultrasound, injury prevention protocols, and mixed martial arts. Up-to-date information on nutritional supplements, eating disorders, sports and pharmacology for chronic conditions and behavioral medicine, and extreme and adventure sports. Designed for quick reference, with a logical organization by both topic and sport. Online features include downloadable patient education handouts, and handy links. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323796699Publication Date: 2022-03-23
