Literature searches
There are some fundamental strategies to improve your database search skills. Listed below are components of effective (systematic) literature searches:
- Determine the types of articles (systematic reviews, meta-analyses, RCTs) that will answer your question
- Decide which key concepts address your topic and use them to search the databases
- Choose an appropriate database to start your literature search (PubMed, CINAHL, Cochrane)
- Document the search process that is easy to save and retrieve ( Microsoft word, copy/paste, email search history features in databases)
- Identify appropriate indexed terms in the database thesaurus, e.g., MeSH terms (Medical Subject Headings) in PubMed and CINAHL Headings in the CINAHL database.
- Use variations in search terms, e.g., keywords and database subject headings (use combination for best results)
- Use database-appropriate syntax when searching, i.e., Boolean operators, AND, OR, NOT (PubMed does not require)
- Develop an effective search strategy and conduct the search
- Evaluate your initial search results
- Search again based upon new findings
Boolean Operators are words that can help you connect or exclude keywords from your database searches.
This video explains what Boolean Operators are and how they work:
Source: NC State University Libraries
Searching for articles in scholarly databases is quite different from searching the internet; instead of typing a full question into the search bar, you'll want to learn subject terms related to your topic. The subject terms will become your keywords or the words you'll use to search the databases. This video will explain how to develop an effective list of keywords to find scholarly research articles. (NC State University Libraries)
What makes an effective database search? Learn how to develop your skills by watching these brief and helpful tutorials developed by health sciences librarian, Carrie Price. Towson State University Libraries
To view all videos on database searching created by Carrie Price go to the Playlist:
As you begin to search for relevant literature on your topic, whether it is a PICO question or other type of research, there are some basic strategies to keep in mind:
- Flexibility-Having the ability to adapt your search strategies based upon what you find in the literature. Perhaps you need to rethink your initial topic or PICO question.
- Persistence-Finding appropriate articles requires searching the literature more than once! In order to find the most relevant articles, take time to think about the search terms you are using such as keywords, synonyms and subject headings. The terminology that you use makes a big difference in what you find.
- Ask a Librarian. They are trained to help in many ways and can guide you through some of the hurtles and challenges that sometimes occur when looking for literature.
Adapted from NWACC Libraries