AGACNP Resources
Welcome to the AGACNP ( Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner) library resource guide. On this site you will find links to many types of gerontological resources including ebooks, organizations, articles, and other support materials for your course curriculum.
If you need an article for your coursework, please use the Article Request form.
Below are categories of gerontological resources in tabbed format. Select a tab from the collection to access more specific information regarding gerontological care.
Gerontology eBooks
Evidence-Based Geriatric Nursing Protocols for Best Practice by
ISBN: 9780826171894Publication Date: 2016-01-01
Quality of Life and Person-Centered Care for Older People by
This book explores the meaning of quality of life in care for older persons and introduces the reader to their main concerns when receiving care. Based on qualitative research, it pays particular attention to the needs and requirements of older people, considering their individual family situations, social circumstances, values and lifestyles. Person-centred care is a way of providing nursing care that puts older people and their families at the core of all decisions, seeing each person as an individual, and working together to develop appropriate solutions. Following an introduction to the concept of quality of life in old age, the book reviews essential findings from worldwide research into the experiences of older people with regard to nursing care and the impact of these experiences on their quality of life. It investigates health promotion, care provided in nursing homes and assisted living facilities, and palliative care. Each chapter includes a brief introduction to the respective field of nursing care and the problems it has to deal with, concluding with a discussion of their implications for nursing practice in the respective field of care. In closing, the evidence from qualitative research is discussed in relation to current gerontological theories.
ISBN: 9783030299897Publication Date: 2019-11-26
The Very Old Critically Ill Patients by
This book, part of the European Society of Intensive Care Medicine (ESICM) textbook series, provides detailed up-to-date information on the care of the critical ill very old (≥80 years) patients in the ICU. The very old are expanding fast in our populations, and this is mirrored in our hospitals and ICUs as well. During the last decade, a lot more information about the group of critical ill elderly has been published, and several large networks cooperate in performing multinational studies in this field, one of them with roots in the ESICM. This book will give readers knowledge about the current epidemiology of elderly ICU patients, in patients centered outcomes and factors affecting these outcomes. A large part is devoted to age related changes in vital organ functions, and the specific geriatric "syndromes" like frailty, cognitive decline, reduced activity of daily living, sarcopenia and immunosenecence. This is all important for the practicing intensivists to know about. In addition, specific groups of the elderly in the ICU are also described like the elderly patients with trauma or sepsis. The book is written jointly by intensivists and geriatricians, often working in teams and originating from many different countries. This herald a new era in the collaboration between these two groups in order to improve care and rehabilitation. We have a lot to learn from each other, as both groups have a holistic view of our patients although with different perspectives. This book should be of value for all working in adult ICUs, physicians as well as nurses. It will hopefully lead to a better understanding of the particular challenges posed by this important sub-group of ICU patients and how to manage his group in a way that combine respect for life as well as death and includes patients and caregivers in this process.
ISBN: 9783030941321Publication Date: 2022-08-04
The Impact of Patient-Centered Care by
This book investigates the impact of patient-centered care (PCC) for older adults with chronic conditions and presents new evidence concerning its effects on the care process and health outcomes. The book highlights the impact of PCC on elderly chronic disease patients' health experiences and demonstrates that PCC is associated with better performance in delivering care to this group of patients. The PCC approach also provides opportunities for improving the delivery of cancer care, although patient-centered oncology care is still in its infancy and evidence on its effectiveness is scant. The book also includes a systemic review and meta-analysis of connections between PCC and cancer patients' adverse healthcare utilization, costs, patient satisfaction, and quality of care. This book is unique in terms of the measures' comprehensiveness and provides ample evidence that the implementation of PCC is associated with better healthcare performance. The intended readers include researchers in related fields, graduate students, and healthcare providers. It is hoped the book offers further evidence for meaningful practice and have many policy and research implications in PCC.
ISBN: 9789811639678Publication Date: 2022-08-24
Pathy's Principles and Practice of Geriatric Medicine by
Pathy's PRINCIPLES AND PRACTICE OF GERIATRIC MEDICINE The latest edition of the gold standard in geriatric medicine references Pathy's Principles and Practice of Geriatric Medicine, Sixth Edition delivers a comprehensive overview of the subject, offering up-to-date, evidence-based, information about the many, and varied, problems suffered by ageing patients. In this latest edition, the authors take a refreshed approach to the material by rigorously applying the latest scientific research to clinical practice and increasing the use of visual examples, algorithms, and clinical practice points. Thoroughly updated throughout, the chapters give readers a truly global perspective on geriatric medicine that reflect the most recent changes in treatment options and medical conditions. In addition to new chapters on a range of recent and emerging topics, clinical practice points, and visual evidence--including MRI scans--the book also offers a: Thorough introduction to relevant biological, social, and community perspectives on caring for mature and ageing patients, as well as medicine prescribing for older patients Comprehensive exploration of eating disorders that commonly occur in the aged and how to maximize the nutritional health of ageing patients Practical discussions of haematological and cardiovascular disorders and diseases in ageing patients In-depth examination of special issues in elder care, including elder abuse, alcoholism and substance abuse, transportation issues, and end-of-life care Perfect for all clinicians working with mature patients, Pathy's Principles and Practice of Geriatric Medicine will also continue to earn a place in the libraries of allied healthcare workers with ageing patients and clients.
ISBN: 9781119484202Publication Date: 2022-02-22
Nursing Homes and Elder Abuse by
Nursing homes provide care to about 1.4 million nursing home residents-a vulnerable population of elderly and disabled individuals. CMS, an agency within the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), defines standards nursing homes must meet to participate in the Medicare and Medicaid programs. This book reviews the abuse of residents in nursing homes.
ISBN: 9781536179743Publication Date: 2020-06-03
Understanding Ageing for Nurses and Therapists by
This volume is a practical resource for all those responsible for caring for older people across health and social care. It provides a comprehensive and holistic approach helping nurses, therapists and social care professionals to better understand the impact of ageing upon the person and wider society. A unique feature of this text is the focus upon positive ageing and the attempt to dispel and challenge some of the myths, prejudices and negative attitudes that still prevail towards ageing and older people. A key objective of the book is to introduce practitioners to some of the neglected or under-addressed aspects of ageing such as spirituality, sexuality, and LGBT. Chapters are written in an engaging and interactive style and where appropriate draw upon case studies and scenarios to maximize engagement developing competence, by informing knowledge, attitudes and skills. The text introduces the practitioner to key dimensions of what it is to be a person, physically, psychologically, socially and spiritually and how these contribute to the ageing process and can enhance the quality of life of older people. Irrespective of whether one cares for older people in an acute hospital setting or domiciliary, home care, this text will be of relevance. The material and content transcend health and social care boundaries, providing valuable, contemporary evidence that can inform and shape practice. Above all this text will encourage reflection, dialogue and engagement with some fundamental aspects of ageing, challenging, attitudes, values and behaviour so that a more positive and balanced insight towards ageing is fostered. This book will ensure that self-awareness and professional practice are enriched and informed and the practitioner has a holistic understanding of ageing that will enable them to care for older people with compassion, dignity and respect.
ISBN: 9783030400743Publication Date: 2021-06-10
Hazzard's Geriatric Medicine and Gerontology, Eighth Edition by
The undisputed leader on the subject of geriatrics has been updated with the most recent advances in the field for assessing and managing diverse groups of older adults in various settings Authored by a team of the world's most respected geriatricians, Hazzard's Principles of Geriatric Medicine and Gerontology, Eighth Edition combines gerontology principles with clinical geriatrics to provide unmatched coverage of the health and well-being impacts of population aging. Anchored in science, evidence-based medicine, and patient-centered practice, it presents the most up-to-date, medical information available. This practical guide focuses on the implementation of key concepts and covers the foundation for geriatrics, as well as frequently encountered syndromes found in older people. In addition, it provides valuable insights into the simultaneous management of multiple problems, including psychological and social issues, and their interactions, an intrinsic aspect of geriatric patient care. Updates include: * NEW: Chapters on Geroscience; Value-Based Care; The Patient's Perspective; Multi-Morbidity; Disparities: Social Determinants of Health and Access to Care; Age Friendly Care; Self-Management of Health Behavior * NEW: Updated coverage of COVID-19 in geriatric patients * NEW: Free access to updates (case-based, studies/trials and hot topics) on accessmedicine.com * NEW: Chapters on costs of care in the management of diseases, including an international comparative approach
ISBN: 9781260464450Publication Date: 2022-06-13
Geriatrics for Specialists by
This book aims to be a single point of reference for advances in the care of geriatric populations across medical and surgical specialties. The aging population is a unique demographic with its own health challenges. Geriatricians are specifically trained to address these challenges but few medical students or residents enter geriatrics, even as the demand for geriatric expertise increases. The practices of many medical and surgical specialists are dominated by older patients who may themselves see many specialists but rarely visit geriatricians. This updated edition elucidates the most common medical conditions seen in aging patients and translates approaches to those conditions for physicians across specialties. Divided into three sections that assemble crosscutting issues, medical specialties, and surgical and related specialties, this book serves as a guide for clinicians of all backgrounds who will work with older patients as the demographic ages further. This second edition of Geriatrics for Specialists expands the number of specialist chapters to reflect growth in research in aging and clinical care for older people in dermatology, plastic surgery, and behavioral neurology. All original chapters from the first edition are extensively revised and updated to reflect the rapid growth of new knowledge in the field.
ISBN: 9783030762704Publication Date: 2021-09-01
Sociology of Aging and Death by
This book presents a critical analysis and examination of the major theories and social issues in the social construction of aging and death. It is concerned with the impact of death and places how our experiences of death are transformed by the roles that truth and discourse about aging play in everyday life. A major element of the book is an examination of the way in which groups and individuals employ specific representations of mortality in order to construct meaning and purpose for life and death. To accentuate this, the book provides an investigation into the social construction of death practices across time and space. Special attention is given to the notion of death as a socially accomplished phenomenon grounded in a unique sociological introduction to the meaning of death throughout history to the present. The purpose of this book is to critically inform debates concerning the abstract and empirical features of death examined through the lens of sociological perspectives. This book explores the emergent biomedical dominance relating to ageing and death. An alternative is advocated which re-interprets ageing for Graduate schools. This innovative book explores the concept, history and theory of aging and its relationship to death. Traditionally, many books have focused on older people dying of 'natural causes', a biomedical explanatory framework. This book looks at alternative social theories and experiences with aging and relate to death in different countries, victims, crime, imprisonment and institutional care. Are these deaths avoidable? If so, what are the solutions the book addresses. This is one of the first books that re-interprets aging and its relationship of examples of death. It will be of essential reading for graduate students and researchers in understanding these different examples of aging and death across the globe.
ISBN: 9783031193286Publication Date: 2022-11-26
Encyclopedia of Gerontology and Population Aging by
This eight-volume encyclopedia brings together a comprehensive collection of work highlighting established research and emerging science in all relevant disciplines in gerontology and population aging. It covers the breadth of the field, gives readers access to all major sub-fields, and illustrates their interconnectedness with other disciplines. With more than 1300 cross-disciplinary contributors--including anthropologists, biologists, economists, psychiatrists, public policy experts, sociologists, and others--the encyclopedia delves deep into key areas of gerontology and population aging such as ageism, biodemography, disablement, longevity, long-term care, and much more. Paying careful attention to empirical research and literature from around the globe, the encyclopedia is of interest to a wide audience that includes researchers, teachers and students, policy makers, (non)governmental agencies, public health practitioners, business planners, and many other individuals and organizations.
ISBN: 9783030220082Publication Date: 2021-11-03
