Recommended Databases
PubMed® Special Queries- Looking for Evidence that is Multidisciplinary?
Directory of Topic-Specific PubMed Queries
The Special Queries in PubMed includes many pre-filtered search options designed to quickly find subject matter specific to certain topics such as Bioethics, Comparative Effectiveness Research, Health Disparities, Population Health, Research Reporting & Guidelines and more.
Searching the Evidence-Based literature requires using a wide collection of databases. The ones listed below represent a holistic collection used by nurses, researchers, students and other health care professionals.
-
CINAHL This link opens in a new windowComprehensive database of full-text nursing and allied health journals and other health literature.
-
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new windowClinical resource of research and point of care tools, including multimedia collections in medical and surgical specialties.
-
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowFull text, evidence-based decision support for healthcare providers.
-
Lippincott Advisor This link opens in a new windowClinical support database that includes diagnosis/treatment tools, care planning, patient teaching and quality and safety initiatives.
-
Lippincott Procedures This link opens in a new windowClinical database that provides access to evidence-based procedures and skills in a variety of medical specialty settings.
-
ECRI Guidelines TrustCreate a free account to access the repository of clinical practice guidelines.
-
ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health Source This link opens in a new windowComprehensive coverage of nursing and allied health resources, including full-text journals, dissertations, medical images, and teaching materials.
-
PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowAmerican Psychological Association’s (APA) resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.
-
PubMed Clinical Queries This link opens in a new windowSearch the PubMed database to find systematic reviews and clinical research studies using a pre-filtered search box.
-
Trip Database This link opens in a new windowGlobal evidence-based medicine database from a wide range of sources.
PubMed Tutorials
Proquest Database
Disclaimer
Non-Mount Carmel organizations referenced on this website are identified for informational purposes only. Mount Carmel is not endorsing these organizations. The services these organizations provide, and the values or opinions they express, may not be consistent with the teachings of the Catholic Church and the Ethical and Religious Directives for Catholic Health Care Services. Mount Carmel makes no representations concerning the conduct or beliefs of these organizations.