Electronic Books
The Mount Carmel Health Sciences Library collection includes access to current Evidence-Based Practice books accessible in full-text electronic format. Click on the title or image to access.
Evidence-Based Practice In Action: Comprehensive Strategies, Tools, and Tips From The University of Iowa Hospitals And Clinics by ISBN: 9781940446943Publication Date: 2018
Online Version: Essentials of Nursing Research by
This eighth edition of Essentials of Nursing Research,nbsp;written by AJN award-winningnbsp;authors, along with its accompanying Study Guide for Essentials of Nursing Research, student learning ancillaries, and instructor teaching materialsnbsp;present a uniquenbsp;learning-teaching package that is designed to teach students how to read and critique research reports, and to appreciate the application of research findings to nursing practice. nbsp; New to this edition: -nbsp;New text organization with separate sections on quantitative and qualitative research offer greater continuity of ideas to better meet the needs of students and faculty. - New online chapter supplements fornbsp;every chapter expand student's knowledge of research topics. - New chapter on mixed methods research, which involves the blending of qualitative and quantitative data in a single inquiry, responds to the surge of interest in this type ofnbsp;researchnbsp; -nbsp; Increased emphasis on evidence-based practice (EBP) especially in the areas of asking well-worded questions for EBP andnbsp;searching for such evidence guides the reader from theory to application. nbsp;- Enhanced assistance for instructorsnbsp;withnbsp;numerous suggestions on how to make learning about--and teaching--research methods more rewarding. -New interactive critiquing activity, available on thePoint website, brings thenbsp;Critical Thinking Exercisesnbsp;from the textbook to an interactive tool. The new format makes it easy for students to respond tonbsp;the series of targeted questions about the Research Examples. Responses cannbsp;be printed or e-mailed directly to instructors for homework or testing.
ISBN: 1451176791Publication Date: 2013-02-01
Evidence-Based Practice: an implementation guide by
Evidence-Based Practice: An Implementation Guide for Healthcare Organizations was created to assist the increasing number of hospitals that are attempting to implement evidence-based practice in their facilities with little or no guidance. This manual serves as a guide for the design and implementation of evidence-based practice systems and provides practice advice, worksheets, and resources for providers. It also shows institutions how to achieve Magnet status without the major investment in consultants and external resources.
ISBN: 9781449619121Publication Date: 2010-10-25
The Doctor of Nursing Practice Scholarly Project [electronic resource] by
The Doctor of Nursing Practice Scholarly Project: A Framework for Success, Second Edition focuses on assisting students and faculty with creating a system for the completion of the DNP scholarly project. The text provides a roadmap for DNP students to use on their journey from project conception through completion and dissemination. The overall goal of the Second Edition is to introduce a process that will help students work through their project, resolve project variability across programs, and assist faculty and others working with DNP students as they complete their scholarly work. The Second Edition provides an updated historical perspective of the DNP degree and guides students on the development of the scholarly project. Lastly, it focuses on project evaluation and outcomes as well as how the scholarly project contributes to evidence-based nursing practice. This text is intended for practical application and provides the framework for the scholarly work process.Key Features: Sample manuscript for student reference New chapter on scholarly project toolsAction plans found at the conclusion of each chapterUpdated interviews from practicing DNP graduatesInstructor Resources Include: Instructor's ManualPowerPoint presentations
ISBN: 1284079686Publication Date: 2016-03-04
Translation of Evidence into Nursing and Health Care Practice 2nd edition by
The first text of its kind, Translation of Evidence into Nursing Practice helps graduate students in Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) courses meet the core competency requirements, content, and knowledge of the DNP curriculum. This revolutionary guide focuses particularly on the challenges of translating evidence into practice, one of the DNP course competencies. Written by nursing faculty who are currently involved in clinical practice and who translate evidence as part of their practice activities, this textbook presents an interdisciplinary application that provides readers with content for both clinical-based and non-clinical based DNP courses. Divided into three main sections, it discusses theoretical and practical challenges to translation of evidence into practice; methods and translation techniques to employ this translation across settings; and related evaluation strategies to demonstrate improvement in practice and clinical care outcomes. Key topics: .: Integration and application of knowledge into practice; Leading and evaluating change; Leadership strategies for translation; Interdisciplinary application across settings; Outcomes management for improvement of direct and indirect care; Other important features include case studies, suggested activities for application of the content for learning, and an extensive list of references, current web links, and other applicable resources for enhancing graduate student learning.; Part I - Translation of Evidence Chapter 1 - Introduction to Translating Evidence into Practice. Chapter 2 - Translational Frameworks. Change 3 - Change Frameworks for Translation. Chapter 4 - Translation of Evidence for Improving Clinical Outcomes. Chapter 5 - Translation of Evidence for Improving Safety and Quality. Chapter 6 - Translation of Evidence for Leadership. Chapter 7 - Translation of Evidence for Education. Chapter 8 - Translation of Evidence for Health Policy. Chapter 9 - Translation for Use in Information Technology. Part II - Methods for Translation. Chapter 10 - Creating a Culture that Promotes Translating Evidence into Practice. Chapter 11 - Barriers and Challenges in Translation. Chapter 12 - Legal and Ethical Issues in Translation. Chapter 13 - Creating a Plan for Translation. Chapter 14 - Evaluation of Translation. Chapter 15 - Dissemination of Evidence.
ISBN: 9780826117830
Evidence-Based Practice for Nurses: Appraisal and Application of Research by
Evidence-Based Practice for Nurses: Appraisal and Application of Research, Fifth Edition is an essential resource for teaching students how to translate research into practice. The text is based on the five step IDP process (knowledge, persuasion, decision, implementation, and confirmation). The Fifth Edition has been revised to include content related to the evolution of nursing science, quality improvement projects and how they relate to evidence-based practice, as well as search strategies and authentic web content.The hallmark feature of this text is its presentation of content. Each chapter is divided into 'bites' which make the chapters quick to read and easy to understand. To bring content to life, the authors have woven the "Apply What You've Learned" case study throughout each chapter to illustrate the importance of hand hygiene. Lastly, the Fifth Edition features a revision to the hierarchy of evidence which helps students identify the types of evidence that fit within each level as well as the tools necessary to appraise evidence. New to the Fifth Edition:Separate chapters dedicated to evidence-based practice and nursing researchUpdated quantitative design examplesAnalysis of the four types of study validity threatsConducting evidence appraisal to determine strength and qualityRecommended tools to appraise evidence qualityNew content focused on mixed methodsIn-depth examples of data collectionEnhanced quality improvement and evidence-based practice projectsNavigate Advantage Access
ISBN: 9781284226324Publication Date: 2021-09-16
Johns Hopkins Nursing Evidence-Based Practice by
Unlike more expensive, weighty textbooks on the theories, Johns Hopkins Nursing Evidence Based Practice: Models and Guidelines provides practical guidelines on the model with exemplars, a question development tool, evidence rating scale, project management, appraisal forms, and evidence summary documents, this book helps nurses not only understand the theory, but also put it into action. The new edition includes expanded and improved tools and forms including additional guidelines for individual appraisals, and both research and non-research-based evidence. Authors will improve the strength and quality of the section on systematic reviews. It is both a textbook for students and a handbook for nurses in practice. Faculty members and staff development instructors can download a PDF of a free, 26-page instructors guide to use as a resource in teaching the JHNEBP Model. The instructors guide includes examples of course objectives, how to set up an EBP project for students, and educational strategies for health care organizations. The guide addresses both graduate and undergraduate education.
ISBN: 9781935476764Publication Date: 2012-02-01
Online Version: Evidence-Based Nursing by
Evidence-Based Nursing: The Research-Practice Connection, Third Edition introduces students to research methods and evidence-based practice (EBP). Written in an accessible style, the content moves readers through understanding how research is produced to appraisal at the critical thinking level. Timely information links evidence-based practice to recent work in the Safety and Quality programs that are underway in healthcare and nursing.Key Features:* Offers five common research designs, systematic reviews, and clinical practice guidelines by using a consistent, easy-to-read "Why-How-What" approach.* Exemplar research reports include "Profile and Commentary" that explain results of studies and help students better understand the methodological components of a study Accompanied by Instructor Resources:* Save time with a Test Bank and sample syllabus* Encourage critical thinking using additional learning activities, including discussion questions and small group assignments * Plan classroom lectures using PowerPoint Presentations created by the authorNavigate eFolio Now Available! Navigate eFolio: Evidence-Based Nursing , a fully supported and hosted online learning solution featuring an ebook and course management tools is also available for purchase. Navigate eFolio transforms how students learn and instructors teach by bringing together authoritative and interactive content aligned to course objectives, with student practice activities and assessments, an ebook, and reporting tools. For more information visit go.jblearning.com/nursingef
ISBN: 1449697496Publication Date: 2013-01-29
Evidence-Based Leadership, Innovation and Entrepreneurship in Nursing and Healthcare by
Delivers a practical leadership approach that will thrive in today's healthcare environment This application-based text is designed to cultivate nursing and healthcare leaders who embrace the demands and opportunities of today's healthcare environment, which is rooted in innovation. Authored by world-class innovators and leaders in evidence-based healthcare practice, the book provides proven strategies to incorporate innovative and evidence-based leadership strategies into daily use to build creative, high-functioning, and sustainable organizations. The book differs from traditional academic texts by providing content that is practical, personal, and engaging. It provides a clear path for readers to integrate innovation and leadership principles into their careers and daily practice. The text is enhanced by individualized quotes and first-person accounts from healthcare industries. Chapters offer objectives and case studies. Other features include "Calls to Action" which will help readers develop leadership skills, and "Key Takeaway Points" to help remember important concepts. Podcasts conducted with prolific leaders illustrate the many challenges they have faced over the years.Key Features: Rooted in AACN Essentials for DNP and Master's EducationProvides practical information on leadership, innovation, and entrepreneurshipIncludes best practice applications for healthcare and non-healthcare industries to improve outcomes in real-world settingsProvides case studies, "Calls to Action," and "Key Takeaway Points"Includes podcasts with top healthcare leaders
ISBN: 9780826196187Publication Date: 2019-11-28
Disclaimer
Non-Mount Carmel organizations referenced on this website are identified for informational purposes only. Mount Carmel is not endorsing these organizations. The services these organizations provide, and the values or opinions they express, may not be consistent with the teachings of the Catholic Church and the Ethical and Religious Directives for Catholic Health Care Services. Mount Carmel makes no representations concerning the conduct or beliefs of these organizations.