Ethics Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of Ethics by
This encyclopedia presents important research on ethics. The five set volume includes discussions on religious, spiritual, economic, political, medical, environmental, and business ethics.
ISBN: 9781634834797Publication Date: 2016-01-01
Encyclopedia of Global Bioethics by
This work presents the first comprehensive and systematic treatment of all relevant issues and topics in contemporary global bioethics. Now that bioethics has entered into a novel global phase, a wider set of issues, problems and principles is emerging against the backdrop of globalization and in the context of global relations. This new stage in bioethics is furthermore promoted through the ethical framework presented in the UNESCO Universal Declaration on Bioethics and Human Rights adopted in 2005. This Declaration is the first political statement in the field of bioethics that has been adopted unanimously by all Member States of UNESCO. In contrast to other international documents, it formulates a commitment of governments and is part of international law (though not binding as a Convention). It presents a universal framework of ethical principles for the further development of bioethics at a global level. The Encyclopedia of Global Bioethics caters to the need for a comprehensive overview and systematic treatment of all pertinent new topics and issues in the emerging global bioethics debate. It provides descriptions and analysis of a vast range of important new issues from a truly global perspective and with a cross-cultural approach. New issues covered by the Encyclopedia and neglected in more traditional works on bioethics include, but are not limited to, sponsorship of research and education, scientific misconduct and research integrity, exploitation of research participants in resource-poor settings, brain drain and migration of healthcare workers, organ trafficking and transplant tourism, indigenous medicine, biodiversity, commodification of human tissue, benefit sharing, bio industry and food, malnutrition and hunger, human rights and climate change.
ISBN: 9783319094847Publication Date: 2016-07-17
Encyclopedia of Religious Ethics by
A comprehensive, innovative, and authoritative view of moral inquiry engaged with the resources of the world's religions Encompassing three comprehensive volumes, the Encyclopedia of Religious Ethics introduces fundamental issues in moral inquiry, explores the world's major moral traditions, and surveys specific moral issues across a wide range of human experiences. This landmark work defines the meaning, task, and various forms of religious ethics to guide readers through critical inquiry of religious and moral life across historical periods, geography, and cultural traditions. The Encyclopedia features contributions by an extraordinary panel of ethicists, historians, theologians, philosophers, political theorists, and other experts that draw from and revise religious sources to explore basic themes in moral theory and address contemporary ethical and political problems. Each volume is devoted to a particular element of religious ethics. Volume I - Moral Inquiry helps readers understand diverse religious and moral traditions, the social practices and institutions used for their transmission, and the methods and approaches used for their comparison. Volume II - Moral Tradition describes the established historical traditions of Judaism, Christianity, Islam, Buddhism, Indian religions, Chinese religions, African religions, and religions of the Americas. Volume III - Moral Issues provides the conceptual resources for understanding the structures, conditions, and challenges of a wide range of moral issues that religious ethicists have engaged, and for appreciating the contributions of different scholars in the field. Unique in its topical depth and scope, the Encyclopedia of Religious Ethics: Provides diverse historical, contemporary, theoretical, and cultural perspectives on numerous religious and moral traditions Represents the richness of thought of a vast range of renowned scholars from various disciplines, traditions, and cultures Examines some of the most significant theories, approaches, and concepts that have been used to compare traditions of religious ethics Discusses recent developments in religious and moral life and new approaches to the study of religious ethics Introduces practices in current religious communities that address the various dimensions of the moral life Dedicated to understanding and addressing moral challenges and possibilities in our global times, the Encyclopedia of Religious Ethics is an indispensable resource for anyone interested in the relation between religion and ethics in the modern world, including those involved in general and comparative religious studies, religious and comparative ethics, and moral theory.
ISBN: 9781118499528Publication Date: 2022-06-25
