Electronic Books
The Mount Carmel Health Sciences Library collection includes access to current Evidence-Based Practice books accessible in full-text electronic format. Click on the title or image to access.
Evidence-Based Leadership, Innovation and Entrepreneurship in Nursing and Healthcare by
Delivers a practical leadership approach that will thrive in today's healthcare environment This application-based text is designed to cultivate nursing and healthcare leaders who embrace the demands and opportunities of today's healthcare environment, which is rooted in innovation. Authored by world-class innovators and leaders in evidence-based healthcare practice, the book provides proven strategies to incorporate innovative and evidence-based leadership strategies into daily use to build creative, high-functioning, and sustainable organizations. The book differs from traditional academic texts by providing content that is practical, personal, and engaging. It provides a clear path for readers to integrate innovation and leadership principles into their careers and daily practice. The text is enhanced by individualized quotes and first-person accounts from healthcare industries. Chapters offer objectives and case studies. Other features include "Calls to Action" which will help readers develop leadership skills, and "Key Takeaway Points" to help remember important concepts. Podcasts conducted with prolific leaders illustrate the many challenges they have faced over the years.Key Features: Rooted in AACN Essentials for DNP and Master's EducationProvides practical information on leadership, innovation, and entrepreneurshipIncludes best practice applications for healthcare and non-healthcare industries to improve outcomes in real-world settingsProvides case studies, "Calls to Action," and "Key Takeaway Points"Includes podcasts with top healthcare leaders
ISBN: 9780826196187Publication Date: 2019-11-28
Evidence-Based Practice: an implementation guide by
Evidence-Based Practice: An Implementation Guide for Healthcare Organizations was created to assist the increasing number of hospitals that are attempting to implement evidence-based practice in their facilities with little or no guidance. This manual serves as a guide for the design and implementation of evidence-based practice systems and provides practice advice, worksheets, and resources for providers. It also shows institutions how to achieve Magnet status without the major investment in consultants and external resources.
ISBN: 9781449619121Publication Date: 2010-10-25
Evidence-Based Practice for Nurses: Appraisal and Application of Research by
Evidence-Based Practice for Nurses: Appraisal and Application of Research, Fifth Edition is an essential resource for teaching students how to translate research into practice. The text is based on the five step IDP process (knowledge, persuasion, decision, implementation, and confirmation). The Fifth Edition has been revised to include content related to the evolution of nursing science, quality improvement projects and how they relate to evidence-based practice, as well as search strategies and authentic web content.The hallmark feature of this text is its presentation of content. Each chapter is divided into 'bites' which make the chapters quick to read and easy to understand. To bring content to life, the authors have woven the "Apply What You've Learned" case study throughout each chapter to illustrate the importance of hand hygiene. Lastly, the Fifth Edition features a revision to the hierarchy of evidence which helps students identify the types of evidence that fit within each level as well as the tools necessary to appraise evidence. New to the Fifth Edition:Separate chapters dedicated to evidence-based practice and nursing researchUpdated quantitative design examplesAnalysis of the four types of study validity threatsConducting evidence appraisal to determine strength and qualityRecommended tools to appraise evidence qualityNew content focused on mixed methodsIn-depth examples of data collectionEnhanced quality improvement and evidence-based practice projectsNavigate Advantage Access
ISBN: 9781284226324Publication Date: 2021-09-16
Evidence-Based Practice In Action: Comprehensive Strategies, Tools, and Tips From The University of Iowa Hospitals And Clinics by ISBN: 9781940446943Publication Date: 2018
Fast Facts for Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing, Second Edition by
A concise pocket-sized resource for students and practicing nurses alike that delivers the foundations of evidence-based practice (EBP) and basic nursing research concepts in an easy-to-read, quick-access format. It demystifies the research process with straightforward information presented in concise sentences and bullet points.
ISBN: 9780826194060Publication Date: 2015-09-28
Johns Hopkins Evidence-Based Practice for Nurses and Healthcare Professionals, Fourth Edition by ISBN: 9781948057875Publication Date: 2021-07-15
Knowledge Translation in Nursing and Healthcare by
Knowledge Translation in Nursing and Healthcare provides authoritative guidance on the implementation of evidence-informed practice, covering issue identification and clarification, solution building and implementation, evaluation, and sustainment. Integrating theory, empirical research, and experiential knowledge, this hands-on resource assists nurses and healthcare practitioners in collecting quality evidence, transforming it into a useable, customized recommendation, and then applying best practice in various point-of-care settings. Written by highly experienced implementation researchers working with practitioners, the book demonstrates how the synthesis and translation of evidence supports improvement of existing care and service delivery models, and produces increased benefit for both patients and health services. Examples drawn from the authors' first-hand experience--such as pressure injury prevention in acute care, transition of care for people with heart failure, and community leg ulcer care--illustrate the use of best practice in addressing care and quality issues. This important reference and guide: Outlines a planning framework that activates research and evidence in practice settings, moving knowledge into action and sustaining the use of best practice Introduces the framework that enables effective evidence-informed methodology and decision-making Features numerous illustrative field examples of both successful and unsuccessful implementations in a variety of practical situations Offers perspectives on best practice implementation from experienced practitioners and researchers Knowledge Translation in Nursing and Healthcareis a must-have for those wanting to implement, evaluate, and sustain best practice in the delivery of evidence-informed healthcare to patients, families, and communities.
ISBN: 9780813811857Publication Date: 2021-03-23
Translation of Evidence into Nursing and Health Care Practice 2nd edition by
The first text of its kind, Translation of Evidence into Nursing Practice helps graduate students in Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) courses meet the core competency requirements, content, and knowledge of the DNP curriculum. This revolutionary guide focuses particularly on the challenges of translating evidence into practice, one of the DNP course competencies. Written by nursing faculty who are currently involved in clinical practice and who translate evidence as part of their practice activities, this textbook presents an interdisciplinary application that provides readers with content for both clinical-based and non-clinical based DNP courses. Divided into three main sections, it discusses theoretical and practical challenges to translation of evidence into practice; methods and translation techniques to employ this translation across settings; and related evaluation strategies to demonstrate improvement in practice and clinical care outcomes. Key topics: .: Integration and application of knowledge into practice; Leading and evaluating change; Leadership strategies for translation; Interdisciplinary application across settings; Outcomes management for improvement of direct and indirect care; Other important features include case studies, suggested activities for application of the content for learning, and an extensive list of references, current web links, and other applicable resources for enhancing graduate student learning.; Part I - Translation of Evidence Chapter 1 - Introduction to Translating Evidence into Practice. Chapter 2 - Translational Frameworks. Change 3 - Change Frameworks for Translation. Chapter 4 - Translation of Evidence for Improving Clinical Outcomes. Chapter 5 - Translation of Evidence for Improving Safety and Quality. Chapter 6 - Translation of Evidence for Leadership. Chapter 7 - Translation of Evidence for Education. Chapter 8 - Translation of Evidence for Health Policy. Chapter 9 - Translation for Use in Information Technology. Part II - Methods for Translation. Chapter 10 - Creating a Culture that Promotes Translating Evidence into Practice. Chapter 11 - Barriers and Challenges in Translation. Chapter 12 - Legal and Ethical Issues in Translation. Chapter 13 - Creating a Plan for Translation. Chapter 14 - Evaluation of Translation. Chapter 15 - Dissemination of Evidence.
ISBN: 9780826117830
