Articles
A selection of articles on Copyright
Dames, K. M. (2007). Understanding plagiarism and how it differs from copyright infringement. Computers in Libraries, 27(6), 24-27.
Lavelle, M. B., et al (2015) Copyright law basics for the nursing professional: Part 1: Using the work of others, Journal for Nurses in Professional Development, 31(5), 252-257
Lavelle, M. B., et al (2015) Copyright law basics for the nursing professional: Part 2: Using the work of others, Journal for Nurses in Professional Development, 32(1), 2-7
Rhoads, J., & White, C. (2008). Copyright law and distance nursing education. Nurse Educator, 33, 39-44. doi: 10.1097/01.NNE.0000299491.92624.4e
From Our Reference Collection
Copyright for Academic Librarians and Professionals by
In her new book, seasoned copyright expert Butler turns her attention to one of the complex arenas in the world of copyright and intellectual freedom: the unique environment of higher education. This practical handbook will show students training to become college and university librarians how to make informed decisions regarding the use and availability of print, non-print, and online resources. Based on Butler's 17 years of experience conducting copyright workshops and courses, her book matches real-world scenarios with interpretations of the law from copyright experts in the field to provide a thorough understanding of current, everyday applications of copyright law in higher education. Beginning with a solid grounding in the underlying principles of copyright law, such as fair use, public domain, permissions, plagiarism, documentation and licenses, Creative Commons, Open Source (OS), and Open Access (OS), Butler moves onto specific applications of copyright law, including * Internet resources such as blogs/vlogs, podcasts, wikis, social networking tools, and more * DVDs, television, and streaming and on-demand video * Computer and gaming software, handheld applications, and mobile technologies * Multimedia and print works
ISBN: 9780838912140Publication Date: 2014-05-01
Copyright Law for Librarians and Educators by
Copyright in the world of digital information is changing at a fevered pace, even as educators and librarians digitize, upload, download, draw on databases, and incorporate materials into web-based instruction. It's essential to stay abreast of copyright law and fair use without information overload. For fresh, timely insights and application of copyright law for librarians, educators, and academics, Professor Crews maps the territory in a dramatically revised edition of Copyright Essentials. Readers will: learn basic copyright definitions and key exceptions for education and library services; find information quickly with key points sidebars, legislative citations and cross-references; understand the four factors of fair use and related court interpretations;and get up to speed on current interpretations of the Digital Millennium Copyright Act from a librarian-educator viewpoint. Highly praised in its 2000 edition, the new Copyright Essentials draws on cutting edge case law in 18 discrete areas of copyright, including specialized and controversial music and sound recording issues. their rights and responsibilities as copyright owners and users in this succinct, easy-to-use guide.
ISBN: 9780838909065Publication Date: 2006-01-01
The Complete Copyright Liability Handbook for Librarians and Educators by
Librarians and information professionals have ethical and legal responsibilities not only to their users, but also to the information they make available-including the copyrighted materials they license, loan, digitize, and deliver. Tomas Lipinski, a library educator, licensed attorney, and frequent presenter of copyright workshops, offers this comprehensive guide to copyright liability issues specifically aimed at libraries and information centers. This guide is a librarian's primer for copyright risk-management. It covers direct, contributory, and vicarious infringement; immunity; damage remission; notice provisions; and more. Current, practical, and authoritative, Lipinski includes discussions of the DMCA, TEACH Act, and other recent legislation as well as sample notices, policies, and audit tools. His coverage of print, non-print, and new technologies (Web sites, distance education, circulating software, e-books etc.), makes this handbook essential for public, academic, and school librarians.
ISBN: 9781555705329Publication Date: 2005-01-01
Complete Copyright by
Librarians face a myriad of copyright dilemmas every day and as copyright law evolves and new interpretations emerge, libraries play a key role in representing the public in the copyright debate. But how do new copyright laws affect traditional services and new virtual reference user services? What must librarians do to ensure that staff and patrons fully exercise copyright exemptions, like fair use? Offering a wealth of information on library copyright concerns in a vibrant, highly accessible format, Complete Copyright is a must-have resource for your library. ALA copyright expert Russell provides clear, user-friendly guidance for both common copyright issues and latest trends, including the intricacies of copyright in the digital world. Through real-life examples, she also illustrates how librarians can be advocates for a fair and balanced copyright law. This guide will help you to: Address complex copyright issues through the use of real-life library scenarios; Understand when permission is necessary when using copyrighted licenses; Keep up-to-date with recent copyright legislation including the Digital Millennium Copyright Act (DMCA) and the Technology, Education and Copyright
ISBN: 0838935435Publication Date: 2004-07-01
Copyright Assistance
The Copyright Advisory Office at Columbia University focuses on advocacy both nationally and internationally about copyright issues affecting scholarly communications.
News & Issues
- Copyright Advisory Network This link opens in a new window
Other Useful Resources
- Crash Course in Copyright (University of Texas) This link opens in a new window