Preceptor Resources
If you would like to request print books, please Create a Library Account.
Once you create your account click on the link to request the print version of a book through the OPAL Library Catalog.
Electronic versions of books are also accessible through the OPAL Library Catalog.
Preceptor Tool Kit (Health Alliance of MidAmerica, LLC.
Organizations and Associations
Caring Science, Mindful Practice: implementing Watson's human caring theory [Electronic book] by
Caring Science, Mindful Practice offers unique and practical project examples that nurses will consider for their practice or educational settings. With its integration of Watson's caring science and mindfulness principles, Sitzman and Watson have extended knowledge of Watson's caring science and caritas processes through integrating Thich Nhat Hahn's mindfulness perspective and practices. The book offers rich examples of nursing projects that may broaden nursing care for greater patient and student satisfaction and assist nurses with holistic self-care." -- Gale Robinson-Smith, PhD, RN is Associate Professor, College of Nursing, Villanova University, International Journal for Human Caring This book provides wonderful tools for nurses to use in practice, education, or even for self-care. Designed for any nurse, new or experienced, who wishes to learn more about applying Jean Watson's Human Caring Theory to practice, it supplies the meaning behind the importance of having a practice based on mindfulness.... It] is a practical, easy-to-read book for all nursing audiences and could be used at any educational level."--Doody's Medical Reviews "Sitzman and Watsons' book is an invaluable resource√n The strength of this book is its simplicity on one level yet its complexity as the reader works throughout the layers incorporated within the book."--Nursing Times This is the first text to help students and practicing nurses translate and integrate the philosophy and abstracts of Caring theory into everyday practice. It was developed for use as the primary text for an online caring theory course that will be offered through the Watson Caring Science Institute in October 2013. Through case examples and guiding activities, the book helps students and practitioners to more fully comprehend the meaning and use of each Caritas Process. It draws upon the contemplative and mindfulness teaching of Thich Nhat Hahn, a renowned Buddhist monk, poet, author, teacher, and peace activist. Each of the ten Caritas Processes are clearly presented by the author and accompanied by guided mindfulness and artistic practices to support learning and absorption of the method. These artistic practices include the use of images, art, metaphors, and expressive symbols that are designed to promote meaningful introspection and self-awareness√>=the underpinnings of genuine Caritas practice. The book reflects several years of teaching by the author, who has been invited by several large health care institutions (including Kaiser-Permanente) to provide training based on her materials. Key Features: Helps students and practitioners to integrate the philosophy and abstracts of Caring theory into clinical practice Offers case studies and guided activities to reinforce content Draws upon the contemplative and mindfulness teachings of Thich Nhat Hahn Includes concrete guided mindfulness and artistic practices for each of the ten Caritas Processes Designed for a wide audience including undergraduate, graduate and international nursing students
ISBN: 9780826171535Publication Date: 2013-07-30
Human Caring Science : a theory of nursing by
Human Caring Science: A Theory of Nursing, Second Edition by renowned nurse theorist Jean Watson discusses the balance between science and caring that forms the basis of the nursing profession. Watson's Theory of Human Care draws from Western and Eastern philosophers, approaching the human care relationship as a moral concept. Further, it seeks to elucidate the human care process in nursing, preserve humanity and the inner life of patients, and reintroduce true caring and healing into educational and clinical practices.Thoroughly revised and updated, each chapter provides fresh insights and contemporary thinking making it accessible to undergraduates as well as graduates and practicing nurses. This Second Edition also includes a new research chapter with the latest empirical work on assessing and measuring caring, examples of practice models, and multi-site research.
ISBN: 1449628109Publication Date: 2011-02-22
From Novice to Expert: : excellence and power in clinical nursing practice [Print Version] by
This book provides ideas and images that nurses can draw upon in their interactions with others and in their interpretation of what nurses do. It documents nurses concern for their clients welfare and comfort, as well as the care that follows that concern.
ISBN: 020100299XPublication Date: 1984-01-01
Bloom's Taxonomy
Books on Precepting
Mastering Precepting (Electronic Book) by
Nurse Preceptors have the power to make or break a career, and good ones can inspire a nurse to achieve greatness. But effective precepting programs depend on two critical groups - the nurses who support, teach and coach and the nurses who organize and manage the program. Beth Ulrich - nationally recognized for her research in work environments and transitional experiences of new graduate nurses - brings both groups the knowledge, tools skills and wisdom for success. Written for staff nurses and their managers, Mastering Precepting: A Nurse s Handbook for Success helps nurse preceptors learn how to teach and also to seek the support they need to be effective. For Managers, it emphasizes the importance of providing nurse preceptors with positive and supportive experiences.
ISBN: 1945157860Publication Date: 2018-11-01
The Role of the Preceptor [Electronic Resource] by
Thoroughly updated, this practical "how-to" guide provides a useful and easy-to-follow framework for developing and implementing preceptor programs, for learning to precept students, and for facilitating the development of expertise in both preceptors and preceptees. The contributor list includes specialists within a wide spectrum of clinical nursing settings who have expertise in preceptor program development. This text is essential to nursing faculty and nursing clinicians who want to set up preceptor programs, guide student experiences, or help orient novice practitioners to the practice setting. It explains the differences between precepting and mentoring or teaching; provides insights into preceptor programs; and explores internships, residencies, and mentoring.
ISBN: 9780826137166
Nurse Preceptor Program Builder [Print version] by
Accompanying CD-ROM includes customizable versions of the manual's tools and templates, the Effective nurse preceptor workbook, the Effective nurse preceptor PowerPoint presentation, the Assistant nurse preceptor workbook, and the Assistant nurse preceptor PowerPoint presentation.
ISBN: 9781578399864Publication Date: 2007-01-01
Adult Learner [Print Version] by
This much acclaimed text has been fully updated to incorporate the latest advances in the field. As leading authorities on adult education and training, Elwood Holton and Dick Swanson have revised this edition building on the work of the late Malcolm Knolwes. Keeping to the practical format of the last edition, this book is divided into three parts. The first part contains the classic chapters that describe the roots and principles of andragogy, including a new chapter, which presents Knowles' program planning model. The second part focuses on the advancements in adult learning with each chapter fully revised updated, incorporating a major expansion of Androgogy in Practice. The last part of the book will contain an updated selection of topical readings that advance the theory and will include the HRD style inventory developed by Dr. Knowles. This new edition is essential reading for adult learning practitioners and students and HRD professionals. It provides a theoretical framework for understanding the adult learning issues both in the teaching and workplace environments. * Provides a theoretical framework for understanding adult learning issues both in teaching and workplace environments * Essential reading for a wide audience of practitioners and students in the field of adult learning and human resource development * Incorporates Knowles'classic theories on adult learning alongside the latest advances in the field
ISBN: 0750678372Publication Date: 2005-01-25
Fast Facts for the New Nurse Practitioner by
What type of degree do I need to become a nurse practitioner? How do I choose the right clinical preceptor? How can I best prepare for my first year of practice? Written for those considering NP practice, current NP students, and newly certified NPs alike, this quick, easy-to-use manual covers everything there is to know about transitioning into the NP role, its rewards, and its challenges. This second edition includes several new chapters, covering electronic health records, the impact of health care reform, promoting the NP role, and choosing a doctoral program. All of the original chapters have been revised or expanded, with updated key points, tables, and vignettes supplying cutting-edge knowledge and skills to help new NPs excel. The only resource of its kind, this book guides the reader through the entire process of becoming an NP, from the initial decision to the selection of the right educational program to licensure. It discusses the contractual relationship with institutions and related health providers, along with legal and administrative issues. Currently practicing NPs offer words of wisdom on how to survive the first year of practice, and stories from the author and her colleagues provide an intimate look at everyday realities. Organized for easy access to information and filled with humor, the book features learning objectives, quizzes, checklists to facilitate decision making, and other helpful tools. Fast Facts in a Nutshell boxes highlight need-to-know information, and useful tips and resource lists provide information on scholarships, certification, professional organizations, and networking. New to the Second Edition: The dos and don'ts of electronic health records Surviving health care reform today and tomorrow Marketing the NP role to the nursing profession, employers, and the public The terminal degree in nursing: PhD, EdD, or DNP? Revised and expanded information in all chapters Updated key points, vignettes, and tables Nadine M. Aktan, PhD, RN, FNP-BC, received her bachelor's, master's, and doctoral degrees in nursing from Rutgers University College of Nursing and Graduate School in New Brunswick and Newark, New Jersey. She is currently chairperson and associate professor at William Paterson University in Wayne, New Jersey, teaching future nurses and nurse practitioners. She also practices as a family nurse practitioner at the Immedicenter, an urgent care/family practice with locations in Clifton, Bloomfield, and Totowa, New Jersey, and as a maternal√ child community health nurse for Valley Home Care in Paramus, New Jersey.
ISBN: 9780826130426Publication Date: 2015-02-01
Fast Facts for the Nurse Preceptor by
Dedicated and competent nurse preceptors are vital to the success of health care organizations and to the retention of nurses in the profession. Yet clinical teaching and supervision are skills that must be developed; a knowledgeable and experienced practitioner does not automatically become a successful nurse preceptor. This pithy reference guide for nurses in the preceptor role is brimming with information about how to successfully educate, protect, socialize, and evaluate nurses transitioning into a new environment. In an easy-access, bulleted format, this resource helps preceptors establish clinical objectives, execute evaluation and feedback techniques, identify role responsibilities, develop positive communication skills, and develop effective teaching/learning strategies. The guide addresses the qualities of a good preceptor, communication and delegation skills, and the importance of evidence-based practice for the preceptor role. It discusses how to prepare new nurses for the reality shock of entering a new arena, and how to recognize and help the preceptee who is struggling. Nurse preceptors will gain insight into how to assist preceptees in organizing their clinical day and prioritizing their responsibilities. From suggestions in conflict resolution and bullying, to aids in developing critical thinking skills, to advice on completing relevant documentation, this guide helps new nurse preceptors provide a well-orchestrated orientation that will ensure a positive experience for novice nurses and the subsequent delivery of quality, patient-centered care. Sample competency forms and clinical tools add to the book's utility, as well. Key Features: Delivers vital information on all aspects of successful nurse preceptorship in a concise, easy-access format Includes evidence-based content throughout Provides guidance on identifying and developing successful nurse preceptors Addresses organization, prioritization, delegation, effective communication, conflict resolution, and the development of critical thinking skills Offers key information on competency assessment and evaluations A special "Preceptor's Problem Solver" chapter addresses clinical issues unique to the nurse preceptor's role
ISBN: 9780826125224Publication Date: 2015-06-01
Adult Learning
Adult Learning Theory (Andragogy)
A short video from the PC3 team focusing on Malcolm Knowles' theory of andragogy or adult learning. This video is licenced under a Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License.Preceptor Standards-Books
Scope and Standards of Practice for Preceptor Advancement by
Preceptors have always been present in board rooms, clinical settings, schools, and work environments where onboarding and role transitions occur. They formally and informally engage in coaching and mentoring in varying degrees for a specific time period, working with students, new graduates, new employees, and individuals moving into new roles and responsibilities. Exceptional Preceptors inspire preceptees (sometimes called protégés) to excel, to explore their organizations, and to actively contribute to their own success. Effective Preceptors provide the grounding students and employees need to ensure a successful emersion into the culture and climate of their studies and work.However, for all the power Preceptors have to make or break a career depending on their motivation, preparation and support in any organization, there has been no standardization of competencies or practice for preceptoring until now. This work establishes a scope and standards of practice for advancing Preceptors in alignment with recognizing preceptoring as a specialty requiring a unique set of qualities and skills. It provides the definitions, values and beliefs, theoretical framework, scope of practice, standards of practice and competencies of preceptoring in health care as established by the American Academy for Preceptor Advancement (AAPA) Preceptor Certification Committee following an in-depth practice analysis of preceptoring in academic and healthcare facilities. This Scope and Standards of Practice for Preceptor Advancement is an essential text for practicing and aspiring certified Preceptors at every level of achievement.
ISBN: 9781495264504Publication Date: 2014
Core Curriculum for Preceptor Advancement by
This is an essential text for building consistency in preceptor education and training towards preceptor specialty practice and certification. It provides information, strategies, tools and learning activities needed to guide organizations accurately and effectively through preceptor development and process standardization for successful onboarding, competency verification, and transitions of preceptees to service and practice.Featured topics include:A provision for preceptoringFoundational preceptor concepts, theories, models, and competenciesRelationships, responsibilities, and accountabilities of team membersCommunication processes and ethical considerations that value diversityConflict management, reality shock, and mitigating learning defense mechanismsLearning needs, plans, applied adult learning principles, feedback and evaluationPopulation and situation specific preceptoringUse of simulation in preceptoringPreceptor self-care and renewalPreceptors are constantly developing, evolving, and maturing. This text provides a foundation for developing and advancing preceptors beyond the informal "other duties as assigned" role and moving them into formal academic and professional development, recognition, and preparation for certification as Preceptor Specialists.
ISBN: 9781511793919Publication Date: 2015
Education articles
These articles focus on the educational attributes of nursing preceptors as well as considerations for understanding different learning styles and behaviors of the preceptees.
Benner's Novice to Expert Stages
Prinicples of Adult Leaning (Malcom Knowles)
Adult Learning Theory-Northern Arizona University