Have Questions?
Chat with a Librarian
Quick Links
Access eJournals:
Find Print & eBooks:
eBooks
To find eBooks:
- Step 1: Search your topic in the OPAL Catalog.
- Step 2: Select "EBOOK" as Material Type
- Step 3: Select "MOUNT CARMEL" as Collection and click "Search."
- Step 4: Click on "Connect to" to open the eBook.
Below is a sampling of Emergency Medicine eBooks:
CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment 2022 by
The most popular annual guide of its kind--fully revised and updated to reflect all new clinical developments in every field of medicine For 60+ years, CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment―the flagship volume of the renowned Lange medical series―has been delivering the authoritative information students, residents, and clinicians need to build their medical knowledge, expertise, and confidence. Written by top experts in their fields, this unmatched guide is formatted in a way that enables you to find the answers you need quickly and easily. CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment 2022 focuses completely on solving practical bedside clinical issues without spending too much time on pathophysiology. It includes full review of all primary care topics, including gynecology, obstetrics, dermatology, ophthalmology, otolaryngology, psychiatry, neurology, toxicology, and urology. You'll find everything you need to know about inpatient and outpatient care, along the with the most relevant diagnostic tools for day-to-day practice. Features: 320 images Hundreds of quick-access drug treatment tables, with indexed tradenames and updated drug prices Includes an annual review of advances in HIV treatment Includes Essentials of Diagnosis for most diseases/disorders Diagnostic/treatment algorithms present critical information in an at-a-glance format Up-to-date references provide peer-reviewed, evidence-based information "Electronic only" chapters available to all book customers, not just to CMDT online subscribers Expanded chapter content available online and in ebook for all chapter content
ISBN: 1264269382Publication Date: 2021-09-14
Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine: a Comprehensive Study Guide, 9th Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The long-awaited new edition of the world's most widely used and highly regarded textbook and reference of emergency medicine A Doody's Core Title for 2020! Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine is THE essential resource for everyone working in, and teaching emergency medicine. The Ninth Edition provides the depth and breadth of coverage that reflects the complexity and expertise needed to practice emergency medicine in today's fast-paced environments. This comprehensive text is an important clinical resource for physicians, residents and students, advance practice providers, emergency nurses, EMTs, and paramedics. It is a necessary resource for in-training and board examinations, and recertification. Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine covers everything from prehospital care, disaster preparedness, and basic and advanced resuscitative techniques, to all the significant medical, traumatic, and environmental conditions requiring emergency treatment in adults, children and neonates. Highlights of the Ninth Edition: * Full-color design with more tables than ever to succinctly present key information * Extensive updates to all sections, incorporating the latest clinical and evidence-based information * Online access to over 100 videos, covering a wide range of diagnostic and therapeutic procedures, and POCUS for obstetric/gynecologic, pediatric, musculoskeletal, and vascular conditions * World-class pediatric section on the care of neonates, infants, and children * Expanded chapters on the management of gynecologic and obstetric conditions and emergencies * Updated information on toxicologic and environmental emergencies * Contemporary, concise discussion of ED identification and treatment of opioid use disorders * Updated information on procedural sedation * Expert advice on the management and care of transgender patients * Latest information available on neurologic and cardiac emergencies From the reviews of the seventh edition: "Collectively, they have once again produced an excellent text that manages to cover the broad scope of emergency medicine while remaining an easily readable and practical resource....Last, for the inevitable comparison of this current edition of Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine with other available emergency medicine textbooks available: in my opinion, Tintinalli's still comes out on top. It is more concise and easier to read than some, yet it covers the breadth of emergency medicine practice more comprehensively than others....Just as previous editions did, the seventh presents all of the most pertinent and up-to-date information in a well-organized format that is comprehensive yet easy to read. That and many of the attractive new features in this current edition will ensure its place on my bookshelf for years to come."―JAMA
ISBN: 9781260019933Publication Date: 2019-10-18
Rosen's Emergency Medicine: Concepts and Clinical Practice by
For nearly 40 years, Rosen's Emergency Medicine has provided emergency physicians, residents, physician assistants, and other emergency medicine practitioners with authoritative, accessible, and comprehensive information in this rapidly evolving field. The fully revised 10th Edition delivers practical, evidence-based knowledge and specific recommendations from clinical experts in a clear, precise format, with focused writing, current references, and extensive use of illustrations to provide definitive guidance for emergency conditions. With coverage ranging from airway management and critical care through diagnosis and treatment of virtually every emergency condition, from highly complex to simple and common, this award-winning, two-volume reference remains your #1 choice for reliable, up-to-date information across the entire spectrum of emergency medicine practice. Offers the most immediately clinically relevant content of any emergency medicine resource, providing diagnostic and treatment recommendations and workflows with clear indications and preferred actions. Contains eight entirely new chapters covering coronaviruses/COVID-19, the morbidly obese patient, human trafficking, sexual minority (LGBTQ) patients, social determinants of health, community violence, and humanitarian aid in war and crisis. Features over 1,700 figures, including more than 350 new anatomy drawings, graphs and charts, algorithms, and photos. Includes new information across the spectrum of emergency care, such as adult and pediatric airway management, shock, pandemic disease, emergency toxicology, sepsis syndrome, resuscitation, medical emergencies of pregnancy, the immunocompromised patient, child abuse, pediatric sedation, pediatric trauma, and more. Features revised and refined chapter templates that enhance navigation, making it easy to find key information quickly. Provides access to more than 1,200 questions and answers online to aid in exam preparation, as well as two dozen new video clips showing how to best perform critical emergency procedures in real time. Reviewed and verified cover-to-cover by a team of expert clinical pharmacists to ensure accuracy and completeness of all drug information and treatment recommendations. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323758475Publication Date: 2022-06-27Poisoning and Drug Overdose, Eighth Edition by A fully updated edition of the most popular guide to managing toxic exposures and ingestions--now streamlined to help you find the right answers more quickly than ever Designed for speed of use during toxicologic emergencies, Poisoning and Drug Overdose delivers the critical information you need to diagnose and manage drug-related emergencies and chemical exposures. Content in this new edition has been condensed and redesigned to make finding answers more quickly and easily. Updated with newly released drugs and new information on existing drugs, this instant-answer guide covers initial emergency management, including treatment of coma, seizures and hypotension; physical and laboratory diagnosis; and methods of decontamination and enhanced elimination of poisons. It provides detailed information on hundreds of common drugs and poisons, describes the use and side effects of antidotes and therapeutic drugs, and medical management of chemical spills and occupational chemical exposures. Features *Diagnosis and treatment of common and uncommon poisonings and drug overdoses *Coverage of environmental toxins such as mold, asbestos, and others *Special pregnancy considerations *Extensive cross-referencing *Packed with useful tables *Detailed toxicity and workplace exposure guidelines for 500+ industrial chemicals When you must act fast, Poisoning and Drug Overdose answers your critical need for information on drugs and poisons to help you save lives and manage toxic exposure safely and effectively.
ISBN: 9781264259083Publication Date: 2022-05-06
