Have Questions?
Chat with a Librarian
Quick Links
Access eJournals:
Find Print & eBooks:
Hematology & Oncology eBooks
To find eBooks:
- Step 1: Search your topic in the OPAL Catalog.
- Step 2: Select "EBOOK" as Material Type
- Step 3: Select "MOUNT CARMEL" as Collection and click "Search."
- Step 4: Click on "Connect to" to open the eBook.
Below is a sampling of Hematology & Oncology eBooks:
Color Atlas of Clinical Hematology by
Provides coverage of the pathogenesis, clinical, morphologic, molecular and investigational aspects of a full range of blood disorders seen in daily practice The revised fifth edition of this renowned atlas presents readers with a comprehensive, visual guide to clinical hematology, featuring 2700 full-color photographs and figures depicting the spectrum of hematological diseases. Ranging from photographs of the clinical manifestations and key microscopic findings to diagrams of the molecular aspects of these diseases, the book provides up-to-date information of the blood diseases that clinicians encounter every day. Color Atlas of Clinical Hematology: Molecular and Cellular Basis of Disease offers the reader an understanding of normal cell machinery, and of the molecular basis for such processes as DNA and cell replication, RNA species, trafficking and splicing, protein synthesis, transcription factors, growth factor signal transduction, epigenetics, cell differentiation, autophagy, and apoptosis. The text goes on to explore how these processes are disturbed in the various diseases of the bone marrow, blood, and lymphoid systems. Helps solve difficult diagnostic challenges and covers complex principles using highly illustrative, full-color images Explores all aspects of benign and malignant hematology, including blood transfusion and coagulation with extensive coverage of the pathogenesis of common clinical entities Provides a quick and easy reference of key diagnostic issues in a comprehensive yet concise format Includes and illustrates the WHO Classification of Hematologic Malignancies Illustrates the new knowledge of the molecular basis of inherited and acquired blood diseases Color Atlas of Clinical Hematology: Molecular and Cellular Basis of Disease is the must-have resource for both trainee and practising hematologists, and for every department of hematology. "Substantially updated and now multi-authored so that all aspects of haematology are equally covered, including the newest developments in molecular biology and genomic sequencing" "There is a surplus of invention in communicating complex problems here and an admirable effort to keep the reader totally up-to-date"
ISBN: 9781119057017Publication Date: 2019-01-22
Hematology by
Extensively revised, comprehensive content from leading global contributors ensures that Hematology, 8th Edition, remains your #1 choice for expert guidance in all areas of this rapidly advancing subspecialty. This edition reflects the numerous advances that are redefining the field and dramatically influencing new approaches to diagnosis, treatment, and outcomes. Well-illustrated and clinically focused, it details the basic science and clinical practice of hematology and hematopoietic cellular therapy-covering virtually all aspects of hematology in one definitive resource. Covers all hematologic disorders, including comprehensive discussions of hematologic malignancies, individualized patient care, cell-based therapies, transplantation, transfusion medicine, hemostasis, thrombosis, and consultative hematology-in one convenient volume. Provides state-of-the-art guidance from global experts at the forefront of the latest research and clinical practice. Provides extensive updates throughout on basic science research, advances in molecular diagnostics, new drugs, immunotherapies, personalized medicine, laboratory medicine, transfusion medicine, stem cell transplantation, and clinical treatment for all hematologic malignancies and non-malignancies Contains new chapters on gene editing; the impact of mitochondria on hematopoiesis; myelodysplastic syndrome/myeloproliferative neoplasm overlap syndromes; immunotherapy and management of its toxicities; transfusion medicine in sickle cell disease; principles of radiation therapy; and COVID-19, including complications of vaccination and its impact on the hematologic system. Discusses many new advances in the field, including details and the future of gene therapy for hemophilia, gene editing for sickle cell disease and thalassemia, the evolution of cellular therapy, use of cells, transfusion medicine vs. protein therapy, gene sequencing, immunotherapy, and new targeted drugs. Includes more decision-making algorithms for formulating diagnoses and personalized treatment plans for those highly complex disorders that require individualized approaches. Addresses the effects of aging on hematopoiesis and on the manifestations of a variety of hematologic disorders. Discusses cardio-oncology and its impact on the treatment of patients with hematologic disorders. Presents relevant basic science as background for clinical application in later sections. An eBook version is included with purchase. The eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures and references, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud.
ISBN: 9780323733885Publication Date: 2023-01-02
Abeloff's Clinical Oncology by
Easily accessible and clinically focused, Abeloff's Clinical Oncology, 6th Edition, covers recent advances in our understanding of the pathophysiology of cancer, cellular and molecular causes of cancer initiation and progression, new and emerging therapies, current trials, and much more. Masterfully authored by an international team of leading cancer experts, it offers clear, practical coverage of everything from basic science to multidisciplinary collaboration on diagnosis, staging, treatment and follow up. Includes new chapters on Cancer Metabolism and Clinical Trial Designs in Oncology and a standalone chapter on lifestyles and cancer prevention. Features extensive updates including the latest clinical practice guidelines, decision-making algorithms, and clinical trial implications, as well as new content on precision medicine, genetics, and PET/CT imaging. Includes revised diagnostic and treatment protocols for medical management, surgical considerations, and radiation oncology therapies, stressing a multispecialty, integrated approach to care. Helps you find information quickly with updated indexing related to management recommendations, focused fact summaries, updated key points at the beginning of each chapter ideal for quick reference and board review, and algorithms for patient evaluation, diagnosis, and treatment options. Offers more patient care coverage in disease chapters, plus new information on cancer as a chronic illness and cancer survivorship. Discusses today's key topics such as immuno-oncology, functional imaging, precision medicine, the application of genetics in pathologic diagnosis and sub-categorization of tumors as well as the association of chronic infectious diseases such as HIV and cancer. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323476744Publication Date: 2019-03-26
