Have Questions?
Chat with a Librarian
Quick Links
Access eJournals:
Find Print & eBooks:
Featured eBooks
The Color Atlas and Synopsis of Family Medicine, 3rd Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The updated visual atlas of family medicine--enhanced by more than 2,000 illustrations A Doody's Core Title for 2019! The Color Atlas and Synopsis of Family Medicine simplifies and supports visual diagnosis like no other guide. The text is bolstered by more than 2,000 illustrations, consisting of state-of-the-art photos and drawings, most in full color. Page after page, the book's precise clinical images are integrated with evidence-based diagnostic pearls presented in bulleted text--ideal for time-pressed physicians. Sections highlight specific diseases and disorders, organized by anatomic and physiologic systems, with each chapter opening with a patient story to connect the photographs with real-life clinical scenarios. Every condition features a consistent format that includes the patient story, Epidemiology, Etiology and Pathophysiology, Diagnosis, Differential Diagnosis, and Management to aid the reader in navigating to the right section with ease and efficiency. NEW TO THIS EDITION: * New chapters on Mental Health, the Opioid Crisis, Dementia, Sports-related Head Injury, and LGBT health issues * New chapter on Zika, Ebola and other emerging infections expand the insights in the Global Health chapter * New Foundations of Dermatology section contains a dermoscopy chapter, plus chapters on dermatology terminology, topical and intralesional steroids, and biopsy principles and techniques * Management section is now divided into first- and second-line therapies
ISBN: 9781259862045Publication Date: 2018-12-11
Conn's Current Therapy 2023 by
Trusted by clinicians for more than 75 years, Conn's Current Therapy presents today's evidence-based information along with the personal experience and discernment of expert physicians. The 2023 edition is an excellent resource for a wide range of healthcare professionals, including primary care, subspecialists, and allied health, providing current treatment information in a concise yet in-depth format. Nearly 350 topics have been carefully reviewed and updated to bring you state-of-the-art content in even the most rapidly changing areas of medicine. Offers personal approaches from recognized leaders in the field, covering common complaints, acute diseases, and chronic illnesses along with the most current evidence-based clinical management options. Follows a consistent, easy-to-use format throughout, with diagnosis, therapy, drug protocols, and treatment pearls presented in quick-reference boxes and tables for point-of-care answers to common clinical questions. Includes new chapters on leg edema and venous stasis, multisystem inflammatory syndrome in children (MIS-C), monoclonal antibodies, and genetic testing. Incorporates more electronic links throughout the text that connect the reader to apps and clinical prediction tools that can easily be accessed in practice. Features thoroughly reviewed and updated information from many new authors and two new associate editors, Drs. Joel J. Heidelbaugh and Ernestine M. Lee, who offer a fresh perspective and their unique personal experience and judgment. Provides current drug information thoroughly reviewed by PharmDs. Features nearly 300 images, including algorithms, anatomical illustrations, and photographs, that provide useful information for diagnosis. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780443105616Publication Date: 2023
CURRENT Diagnosis & Treatment in Family Medicine, 5th Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Provide continuous, comprehensive care of patients throughout their lifetimes with this evidence-based guide An easy-to-use guide to the diagnosis, treatment, and management of the full range of clinical conditions seen in primary care NEW content includes coverage of genetics and precision medicine use in family medicine, telehealth in family medicine, CTE and sports injuries, Zika, the opioid epidemic, Hepatitis C, expansion of the HIV section, veteran's health and PTSD, and more The leading resource for USMLE Step 3 review, board certification and maintenance or recertification Essential for primary care trainees, practicing physicians, advanced practice nurses, and physician assistants Features Organized according to the developmental lifespan, beginning with childhood and adolescence and progressing through adulthood and senior years Evidence-based recommendations Conservative and pharmacologic therapies Complementary and alternative therapies when relevant Suggestions for collaborations with other healthcare providers Attention to the mental and behavioral health of patients as solitary as well as comorbid conditions Recognition of impact of illness on the family Patient education information End-of-life issues
ISBN: 9781260134896Publication Date: 2020-06-17
CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment 2023 by
The most popular annual guide of its kind--fully updated to reflect all new clinical developments in every field of adult medicine For 60+ years, CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment has been delivering the authoritative information students, residents, and clinicians need to build their medical knowledge, expertise, and confidence. Written by top experts in their fields, this unmatched guide is formatted in a way that enables you to find the answers you need quickly and easily. Packed with trusted content that keeps you up to date current on the changing guidelines and treatments on an annual basis, CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment 2023 is completely focused on bedside clinical issues. It covers all primary care topics, including gynecology, obstetrics, dermatology, ophthalmology, otolaryngology, psychiatry, neurology, toxicology, and urology. Features * 200 photos and illustrations and hundreds of quick-access drug treatment tables, with indexed tradenames and updated drug prices * Year in Review table highlights key clinical updates over the last year * Comprehensive coverage of patient care, focusing on the diagnostic tools relevant to day-to-day practice * Annual updates to topics in all chapters in a consistent format, drugs, tables, and images and annual review of advances in HIV treatment * Essentials of Diagnosis for most diseases/disorders * Diagnostic and treatment algorithms present important information in an at-a-glance style * Carefully curated references provide peer-reviewed, evidence-based information * Electronic-only chapters available to all book customers * Expanded content available online and in eBook for every chapter
ISBN: 9781264687343Publication Date: 2022-09-02
Drugs in Pregnancy and Lactation by
Put essential information at your fingertips - before you prescribe. The updated 11th edition of Drugs in Pregnancy and Lactation: A Reference Guide to Fetal and Neonatal Risk lists more than 1,200 commonly prescribed drugs taken during pregnancy and lactation, with detailed monographs that provide the information you need on known or possible effects on the mother, embryo, fetus, and nursing infant. For the 11th edition, this bestselling reference has two new authors, both highly knowledgeable on the effects of drugs on the embryo-fetus and nursing infant: Craig V. Towers, a maternal-fetal medicine specialist, and Alicia B. Forinash, a clinical pharmacologist specialist in obstetrics. Key Features: More than 140 new drugs included in this edition. A-to-Z organization helps you find valuable information quickly. Each monograph covers: generic name (in US); risk factors; pharmacologic class; pregnancy and breastfeeding recommendations; pregnancy, fetal risk and breastfeeding summaries; as well as updated references. Quarterly updates , available online, keep you at the forefront of the field. Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS, Android, PC & Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks Multiple viewing options that enable you to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click
ISBN: 9781496349620Publication Date: 2017-05-25
Medical Management of Vulnerable and Underserved Patients: Principles, Practice, Populations, Second Edition by ISBN: 9780071834445Publication Date: 2016-06-21
eBooks
To find eBooks:
- Step 1: Search your topic in the OPAL Catalog.
- Step 2: Select "EBOOK" as Material Type
- Step 3: Select "MOUNT CARMEL" as Collection and click "Search."
- Step 4: Click on "Connect to" to open the eBook.
Below is a sampling of Family Medicine eBooks:
Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2023 by
For 25 years, Ferri's Clinical Advisor has provided immediate answers on the myriad medical diseases and disorders you're likely to encounter in a unique, easy-to-use format. A bestselling title year after year, this popular "5 books in 1" reference delivers vast amounts of information in a user-friendly manner. It is updated annually to provide current and clinically relevant answers on over 1,000 common medical conditions, including diseases and disorders, differential diagnoses, clinical algorithms, laboratory tests, and clinical practice guidelines?all carefully reviewed by experts in key clinical fields. Extensive algorithms, along with hundreds of high-quality photographs, illustrations, diagrams, and tables, ensure that you stay current with today's medical practice. Contains significant updates throughout all 5 sections, covering all aspects of diagnosis and treatment. Features 27 all-new topics including coronary artery dissection, perimandibular abscess, retinal vein occlusion, performance enhancing hormones, aphasia, hemorrhagic ovarian cyst, pelvic fracture, lung transplant, penile cancer and obsessive rumination syndrome, among others. Includes useful appendices covering care of the transgender patient, palliative care, preoperative evaluation, nutrition, poison management, commonly used herbal products in integrated medicine, and much more. Offers online access to Patient Teaching Guides in both English and Spanish. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323755733Publication Date: 2022-06-27
CURRENT Practice Guidelines in Primary Care 2021-2022 by
Guidelines and recommendations for the most common outpatient conditions--from sources you can trust! Fully Reviewed and Updated Guideline Summaries! Organized into topics related to disease screening, prevention and management, and further subdivided into organ systems for quick reference Consolidates information from government agencies, medical and scientific organizations, and expert panels into concise recommendations and guidelines Updated with more than 90 new guidelines Significant updates to colorectal cancer screening, migraine prevention, and management of diabetes, cellulitis, asthma, and chronic pain among many others. New sections on orthopedics and sports medicine in addition to expanded specialty areas such as addiction medicine, transgender health, maternity care and hospital medicine. Spans all areas of general medicine and covers primary care topics in both ambulatory and hospital settings Includes website addresses for U.S. government agencies and professional societies A Doody's Core Title for 2022!
ISBN: 9781264277681Publication Date: 2021-09-30
Signs and Symptoms in Family Medicine -- No Longer availableCall Number: eBookISBN: 0323081320Publication Date: 2012- The Color Atlas and Synopsis of Family Medicine, 3rd Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The updated visual atlas of family medicine--enhanced by more than 2,000 illustrations A Doody's Core Title for 2019! The Color Atlas and Synopsis of Family Medicine simplifies and supports visual diagnosis like no other guide. The text is bolstered by more than 2,000 illustrations, consisting of state-of-the-art photos and drawings, most in full color. Page after page, the book's precise clinical images are integrated with evidence-based diagnostic pearls presented in bulleted text--ideal for time-pressed physicians. Sections highlight specific diseases and disorders, organized by anatomic and physiologic systems, with each chapter opening with a patient story to connect the photographs with real-life clinical scenarios. Every condition features a consistent format that includes the patient story, Epidemiology, Etiology and Pathophysiology, Diagnosis, Differential Diagnosis, and Management to aid the reader in navigating to the right section with ease and efficiency. NEW TO THIS EDITION: * New chapters on Mental Health, the Opioid Crisis, Dementia, Sports-related Head Injury, and LGBT health issues * New chapter on Zika, Ebola and other emerging infections expand the insights in the Global Health chapter * New Foundations of Dermatology section contains a dermoscopy chapter, plus chapters on dermatology terminology, topical and intralesional steroids, and biopsy principles and techniques * Management section is now divided into first- and second-line therapies
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781259862045Publication Date: 2018-12-11
Principles and Practice of Hospital Medicine, 2nd Edition by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780071843140Publication Date: 2017
Mandell, Douglas, and Bennett's Principles and Practice of Infectious Diseases by
For four decades, physicians and other healthcare providers have trusted Mandell, Douglas, and Bennett's Principles and Practice of Infectious Diseases to provide expert guidance on the diagnosis and treatment of these complex disorders. The 9th Edition continues the tradition of excellence with newly expanded chapters, increased global coverage, and regular updates to keep you at the forefront of this vitally important field. Meticulously updated by Drs. John E. Bennett, Raphael Dolin, and Martin J. Blaser, this comprehensive, two-volume masterwork puts the latest information on challenging infectious diseases at your fingertips. Provides more in-depth coverage of epidemiology, etiology, pathology, microbiology, immunology, and treatment of infectious agents than any other infectious disease resource. Features an increased focus on antibiotic stewardship; new antivirals for influenza, cytomegalovirus, hepatitis C, hepatitis B., and immunizations; and new recommendations for vaccination against infection with pneumococci, papillomaviruses, hepatitis A, and pertussis. Covers newly recognized enteroviruses causing paralysis (E-A71, E-D68); emerging viral infections such as Ebola, Zika, Marburg, SARS, and MERS; and important updates on prevention and treatment of C. difficile infection, including new tests that diagnose or falsely over-diagnose infectious diseases. Offers fully revised content on bacterial pathogenesis, antibiotic use and toxicity, the human microbiome and its effects on health and disease, immunological mechanisms and immunodeficiency, and probiotics and alternative approaches to treatment of infectious diseases. Discusses up-to-date topics such as use of the new PCR panels for diagnosis of meningitis, diarrhea and pneumonia; current management of infected orthopedic implant infections; newly recognized infections transmitted by black-legged ticks in the USA: Borrelia miyamotoi and Powassan virus; infectious complications of new drugs for cancer; new drugs for resistant bacteria and mycobacteria; new guidelines for diagnosis and therapy of HIV infections; and new vaccines against herpes zoster, influenza, meningococci. PPID continues its tradition of including leading experts from a truly global community, including authors from Australia, Canada and countries in Europe, Asia, and South America. Includes regular updates online for the life of the edition. Features more than 1,500 high-quality, full-color photographs-with hundreds new to this edition. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase, which allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780323482554Publication Date: 2019-08-29
