Have Questions?
Chat with a Librarian
Quick Links
Access eJournals:
Find Print & eBooks:
Obstetrics
Gabbe's Obstetrics: Normal and Problem Pregnancies by
Highly readable, well-illustrated, and easy to understand, Gabbe's Obstetrics: Normal and Problem Pregnancies is an ideal day-to-day reference or study tool for residents and clinicians. This 8th Edition of this bestselling text offers fast access to evidence-based, comprehensive information, now fully revised with substantial content updates, new and improved illustrations, and a new, international editorial team that continues the tradition of excellence established by Dr. Steven Gabbe. Puts the latest knowledge in this complex specialty at your fingertips, allowing you to quickly access the information you need to treat patients, participate knowledgably on rounds, and perform well on exams. Contains at-a-glance features such as key points boxes, bolded text, chapter summaries and conclusions, key abbreviations boxes, and quick-reference tables, management and treatment algorithms, and bulleted lists throughout. Features detailed illustrations from cover to cover-many new and improved-including more than 100 ultrasound images that provide an important resource for normal and abnormal fetal anatomy. Covers key topics such as prevention of maternal mortality, diabetes in pregnancy, obesity in pregnancy, vaginal birth after cesarean section, and antepartum fetal evaluation. Provides access to 11 videos that enhance learning in areas such as cesarean delivery and operative vaginal delivery. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices
ISBN: 9780323608701Publication Date: 2020-03-09
Obstetrics in Family Medicine by
Obstetrical care in the family medicine setting is an ever-evolving discipline. In addition to routine updates due to the passage of time, several new developments have occurred in the field since the last edition of this book was published. Among these developments are advances in prenatal assessment and diagnosis, recommendations for vaccination in pregnancy, assessment and management of infectious disease in pregnancy, and management of chronic disease concurrent with pregnancy. All thirty-one chapters of the second edition of this text have been thoroughly updated. Several chapters warranted substantive expansion and revision due to the developments on the topic. These chapters include preconception counseling, prenatal care, dysmorphic growth, preterm labor, recurrent pregnancy loss, infection, diabetes, postdates, normal labor, induction and augmentation, prolonged labor, fetal heart rate monitoring, routine postpartum and complications postpartum. A new chapter has been added that covers vaccination in pregnancy as well as other routine wellness recommendations. Now in its fully revised and expanded third edition, Obstetrics in Family Medicine reflects the significant changes that have occurred in the field since 2015. This book remains the definitive resource for meeting the needs of a wide range of primary care providers who provide direct or indirect care of patients of childbearing age. This book also appeals to nurse practitioners, physician assistants and nursing personnel working in the primary care setting. Additionally, this book serves as a useful guide for medical providers who intersect with pregnant, or possibly pregnant patients including emergency medicine physicians, surgeons, EMT's and paramedics.
ISBN: 9783030398873Publication Date: 2020-03-17
Williams Gynecology, Fourth Edition by
The only gynecological text that combines a medical reference and surgical procedural atlas into one volume has been fully updated and revised A cost-effective option to purchasing two separate textbooks, this lavishly illustrated guide brings you fully up to date on the latest topics, including minimally invasive procedures, benign gynecology, and the subspecialties of urogynecology, gynecologic oncology, and reproductive endocrinology. With 1,200 photos and illustrations--including 450 full-color figures depicting operative techniques, Williams Gynecology provides comprehensive coverage of the full spectrum of gynecologic healthcare and disease management, including benign general gynecology; reproductive endocrinology, infertility, and menopause; female pelvic medicine and reconstructive surgery; and gynecologic oncology. Its extensive use of treatment algorithms, differential diagnosis boxes, and other elements, make finding the right answers a quick, efficient process. The Aspects of Gynecologic Surgery and Atlas of Gynecologic Surgery section covers benign gynecologic conditions, minimally invasive surgery, surgeries for female pelvic reconstruction, and surgeries for gynecologic malignancies.
ISBN: 9781260456868Publication Date: 2020-04-24
Williams Obstetrics 26e by
The landmark text that has served generations of obstetrician-gynecologists--fully updated with the most current perspectives of the field Williams Obstetrics has defined the discipline for generations of obstetrician-gynecologists. Written by authors from the nationally renowned University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center and Parkland Hospital, the new edition of this authoritative, evidence-based work maintains its trademark comprehensive coverage and applicability at the bedside, while offering the most current information and insights. The culmination of a century of clinical thought, Williams Obstetrics, 26th Edition delivers expert coverage of obstetrical complications, such as preterm labor, pregnancy-related hypertension, infection, and hemorrhage. It additionally offers foundational content on reproductive anatomy, physiology, and prenatal care. The authors have enhanced this edition with 1,000+ full-color illustrations, plus an increased emphasis on the fast-growing subspecialty of Maternal-Fetal Medicine. No other text matches the long-established scientific rigor and accessibility of Williams Obstetrics. With its state-of-the-art design and review of the newest advances and protocols, this not-be-missed clinical companion brings positive outcomes within reach. New and updated content includes: Increased focus on Maternal-Fetal Medicine Greater coverage of hypertension and hemorrhage Deeper insights into in-utero complications Expanded fetal t section includes cutting-edge fetal imaging, genetics, prenatal diagnosis, and fetal disorders and therapy Basic science, physiology of labor, preterm labor updated with contemporaneous publications in the literature More obstetrical sonography figures Eye-catching illustrations, including updated graphs, sonograms, MRIs, photographs, and photomicrographs A Doody's Core Title for 2022!
ISBN: 9781260462739Publication Date: 2022-04-07
Educational Resources
AFP Topic Module: Labor, Delivery, & Postpartum Issues
Click the American Family Physician Topic Module Icon to access the full list of articles related to Labor, Delivery, & Postpartum Issues.
PDF Articles included below are available through the Mount Carmel Health Sciences Library that would otherwise require AFP Log-In.
- Oxytocin Augmentation During Labor with Epidural Analgesia [Cochrane for Clinicians]Steinberg J. Oxytocin augmentation during labor with epidural analgesia. Am
Fam Physician. 2013 Jun 1;87(11):760-1. PubMed PMID: 23939496. - Impact of Breastfeeding Support [Cochrane for Clinicians]Seehusen DA, Ledford C. Impact of breastfeeding support. Am Fam Physician. 2013 Feb 1;87(3):176. PubMed PMID: 23418760.