Have Questions?
Chat with a Librarian
Quick Links
Access eJournals:
Find Print & eBooks:
Guidelines for Hypertension
Cardiology
Advanced Cardiovascular Life Support Provider Manual by ISBN: 9781616697723Publication Date: 2021-10-21
Cardiology: an Integrated Approach by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. An innovative, cardiology-specific text that blends basic science with the fundamentals of clinical medicine A Doody's Core Title for 2019! Cardiology: An Integrated Approach to Disease skillfully bridges the gap between the science and practice of medicine. This beautifully illustrated book seamlessly integrates the core elements of cell biology, anatomy, physiology, pharmacology, and pathology with clinical medicine. It is the perfect companion for medical students transitioning to their clinical years, as well as for practicing physicians who need a user-friendly update on the basic science underlying the practice of clinical medicine. * Full-color design includes approximately 340 images and 40 tables * Cases teach students how to apply principles to real-world patient situations * The latest developments in the field are incorporated throughout the text * End-of-chapter case-based questions with detailed explanations reinforce important concepts and assess understanding of the material
ISBN: 9780071791540Publication Date: 2017-12-29
Cardiology Secrets by
For more than 30 years, the highly regarded Secrets Series® has provided students and practitioners in all areas of health care with concise, focused, and engaging resources for quick reference and exam review. Cardiology Secrets, 6th Edition, offers practical, up-to-date coverage of the full range of essential topics in this dynamic field. This highly regarded resource features the Secrets' popular question-and-answer format that also includes lists, tables, pearls, memory aids, and an easy-to-read style - making inquiry, reference, and review quick, easy, and enjoyable. The proven Secrets Series® format gives you the most return for your time - succinct, easy to read, engaging, and highly effective. Fully revised and updated, including new information on peripheral vascular and cerebrovascular disease, direct oral anticoagulant agents, and transcatheter aortic valve replacement (TAVR). New chapter on COVID-19 and the Cardiovascular System. Several hundred illustrations, figures, and flow diagrams clearly depict key topics. Top 100 Secrets and Key Points boxes provide a fast overview of the secrets you must know for success in practice and on exams. Bulleted lists, mnemonics, practical tips from global leaders in the field - all providing a concise overview of important board-relevant content. Written by global experts and thought leaders in cardiovascular disease. Portable size makes it easy to carry with you for quick reference or review anywhere, anytime. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323826754Publication Date: 2022
Cardiovascular Physiology, Ninth Edition by
The best cardiovascular physiology text for USMLE and exam review Cardiovascular Physiology, Ninth Edition is a concise and enjoyable way for medical students to gain a fundamental knowledge of the basic operating principles of the intact cardiovascular system and how those principles apply to clinical medicine. Succinct but thorough, it focuses on the facts and concepts students must know to get a solid "big picture" overview of how the cardiovascular system operates in normal and abnormal situations. No other text will prove more valuable in enhancing medical students' ability to evaluate the myriad new information they will be exposed to throughout their career, than Cardiovascular Physiology. *Clarifies the details of physiologic mechanisms and their role in pathologic states *Links cardiovascular physiology to diagnosis and treatment *Summarizes key concepts at the end of each chapter *Highlights must-know information with chapter objectives *Reinforces learning with study questions at the end of each chapter
ISBN: 9781260026115Publication Date: 2018-07-06
COVID-19 and the Heart: a Case-Based Pocket Guide by
From frontline experts on the topic--everything you need to know about COVID-19 and how it affects the heart COVID-19's effect on the cardiovascular system continues to drive increases in morbidity and mortality. Building a solid understanding of the disease spectrum is critical for accurately diagnosing, treating, and managing patients with heart issues in the time of COVID. Written by a team of experts who worked on the frontlines in New York City throughout the worst of the pandemic, COVID-19 and the Heart: A Cased-Based Pocket Guide is a one-of-a-kind resource for providing safe, effective care for COVID-19-related heart conditions. Designed for quick and easy learning and on-the-spot clinical decision making, this practical guide is organized into chapters based on genuine clinical cases and provides the best approach for each one. The authors highlight key points throughout the clinical content for easy review, and provide up-to-date information on clinical trials/vaccines, diagnostic and treatment algorithms, therapeutics, monitoring, and patient education. Ideal for healthcare workers actively engaged in the ongoing pandemic and students seeking to build their expertise, COVID-19 and the Heart is the go-to guide to making the right clinical judgments with respect to the cardiac manifestations of COVID-19. COVID-19 and the Heart starts with the physiology of COVID-related heart disease, and walks you through COVID's effect on: ACS Valvular heart disease Arrythmia Pericardial disease Heart failure Shock Thromboembolism Hypertension
ISBN: 9781264266708Publication Date: 2021-10-08
Current Diagnosis and Treatment: Cardiology, Fifth Edition by
A comprehensive quick-reference covering every important management issue in cardiology - updated to reflect the latest breakthroughs and practice guidelines CURRENT Diagnosis & Treatment Cardiology, Fifth Edition delivers an up-to-date review of the major disease entities and therapeutic challenges in cardiology. Presented in the popular LANGE format, each chapter discusses diagnostic techniques, prevention strategies, treatment, and prognosis. Covering all the important management issues in cardiology, the book is enhanced by chapter authors who are experts in their respective fields, and more than 200 illustrations, including ECGs, imaging studies, drawings, graphs, and charts * Includes special topics such as pregnancy and heart disease, the use of anticoagulants in heart disease, and the perioperative evaluation of heart disease patients * NEW content on important topics such as peripheral vascular disease, myocarditis, and stress cardiomyopathy * Essential for board review
ISBN: 9781259641251Publication Date: 2017-03-21
Fuster and Hurst's the Heart, 15th Edition by
The landmark text that belongs in the hands of every cardiologist--fully updated and reorganized to make it more patient-centric than ever World-famous for its authority, currency, and clinical relevance, Fuster and Hurst's The Heart is cardiology's longest continuously published reference book. Written to meet the ever-changing needs of cardiologists, fellows, and interns, this trusted classic offers a solid foundation in cardiovascular medicine and complete coverage of all major cardiovascular topics. For this brand-new edition, cardiology legend Dr. Valentin Fuster and his editorial team have significantly enhanced this definitive guide to make it even more focused on the practicalities of patient care. Enhancements include: Content presented in a more methodical pattern, from mechanism to management Chapter summaries and infographics throughout Engaging visual/text features highlighting genetics, epidemiology and natural history, invasive and noninvasive diagnostics, treatment, clinical therapeutic challenges, and risk factors. ACC/AHA/ESC guidelines in all chapters
ISBN: 9781264257560Publication Date: 2022-05-12
Guide to Patient Management in the Cardiac Step down/Telemetry Unit: a Case-Based Approach by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. A practical, case-based approach for beginners to learn the essentials of patient care on the Stepdown floor and cardiac care unit Specifically written for novices on the telemetry floor, this innovative new book guides the beginner through a wide spectrum of cases they will most likely encounter on the Stepdown floor. The cases included in the text are a compilation of real-life ones the authors have encountered in their extensive clinical careers, and each includes discussion of how to best manage the situation, along with detailed explanations. Guide to Patient Management in the Cardiac Stepdown Unit differentiates itself from other texts on the topic by its case-based, highly practical coverage of initial diagnosis, management, and the creation of a care plan, along with troubleshooting tips on managing more complicated situations. The goal of the book is minimize errors, improve outcomes, deliver practical knowledge, and provide the quick management tips required in a fast-paced, high-pressure environment.
ISBN: 9781260456998Publication Date: 2019-11-22
Educational Resources
AFP Topic Module: Coronary Artery Disease/Coronary Heart Disease
- Screening for Coronary Heart Disease with Electrocardiography [Putting Prevention into Practice]Fan T, Smallman DP. Screening for coronary heart disease with electrocardiography. Am Fam Physician. 2014 Jan 15;89(2):79-80. PubMed PMID: 24444573.
Click the American Family Physician Topic Module Icon to access the full list of articles related to Coronary Artery Disease/Coronary Heart Disease.
PDF Articles included below are available through the Mount Carmel Health Sciences Library that would otherwise require AFP Log-In.
- Diagnosis of Stable Ischemic Heart Disease: Recommendations from the ACP [Practice Guidelines]Devitt M. Management of Stable Ischemic Heart Disease: Recommendations from the ACP. Am Fam Physician. 2013 Nov 1;88(9):612-6. PubMed PMID: 24364642.
- Behavioral Counseling Interventions to Promote a Healthful Diet and Physical Activity for CardiovascBuckler A, Servies T; U.S. Preventive Services Task Force. Behavioral counseling interventions to promote a healthful diet and physical activity for cardiovascular disease prevention in adults. Am Fam Physician. 2013 Jun 15;87(12):869-70. PMID: 23939569.
- Dietary Fat Modification and the Risk of Future Cardiovascular Events and MortalityBui Q. Dietary fat modification and the risk of future cardiovascular events and mortality. Am Fam Physician. 2013 May 1;87(9):609-10. PubMed PMID: 23668523.
- Ticagrelor (Brilinta) for Secondary Prevention of Thrombotic Events Following Acute Coronary SyndromTsang K, Hartmark-Hill JR. Ticagrelor (brilinta) for secondary prevention of thrombotic events following acute coronary syndrome. Am Fam Physician. 2013 Dec 15;88(12):821-2. PubMed PMID: 24364545.
- Myocardial infarction: management of the subacute period.Mercado MG, Smith DK, McConnon ML. Myocardial infarction: management of the subacute period. Am Fam Physician. 2013 Nov 1;88(9):581-8. PubMed PMID: 24364634.
- Management of Stable Ischemic Heart Disease: Recommendations from the ACPDevitt M. Management of Stable Ischemic Heart Disease: Recommendations from the ACP. Am Fam Physician. 2013 Nov 1;88(9):612-6. PubMed PMID: 24364642.
Web Resources
- Clinical Evidence (Cardiovascular Medicine Websites)
- American College of Cardiology
- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (Heart Disease)