Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
DeLee, Drez and Miller's Orthopaedic Sports Medicine by Indispensable for both surgeons and sports medicine physicians, DeLee, Drez, & Miller's Orthopaedic Sports Medicine: Principles and Practice, 5th Edition, remains your go-to reference for all surgical, medical, rehabilitation and injury prevention aspects related to athletic injuries and chronic conditions. Authored by Mark D. Miller, MD and Stephen R. Thompson, MD, this 2-volume core resource provides detailed, up-to-date coverage of medical disorders that routinely interfere with athletic performance and return to play, providing the clinically focused information you need when managing athletes at any level. Provides a unique balance of every relevant surgical technique along with extensive guidance on nonsurgical issues-making it an ideal reference for surgeons, sports medicine physicians, physical therapists, athletic trainers, and others who provide care to athletes. Offers expanded coverage of revision surgery, including revision ACL and revision rotator cuff surgery. Features additional coverage of cartilage restoration procedures and meniscal transplantation. Provides significant content on rehabilitation after injury, along with injury prevention protocols. Includes access to a comprehensive video collection, with more than 100 videos new to this edition. Retains key features such as coverage of both pediatric and aging athletes; a streamlined organization for quick reference; in-depth coverage of arthroscopic techniques; extensive references; levels of evidence at the end of each chapter; and "Author's Preferred Technique" sections. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Publication Date: 2019-03-14
Rockwood and Green's Fractures in Adults by This exhaustive reference includes new chapters and pedagogical features, as well as--for the first time--content on managing fragility factures. To facilitate fast, easy absorption of the material, this edition has been streamlined and now includes more tables, charts, and treatment algorithms than ever before. Experts in their field share their experiences and offer insights and guidance on the latest technical developments for common orthopaedic procedures, including their preferred treatment options. New videos--accessible via the eBook--offering instruction and guidance on clinical procedures. New chapters on caring for obese patients, preoperative planning, and pain management. Deep-dive discussion and up-to-date content on how to manage fragility fractures. Easy-to-read tables outlining nonoperative treatments, adverse outcomes, and operative techniques. Time-saving preoperative planning checklists, as well as key steps for each surgical procedure. Potential pitfalls, preventive measures, and common adverse outcomes highlighted for all procedures. Numerous diagnostic and treatment algorithms for common orthopaedic procedures. Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Publication Date: 2019-04-04
Emergency Orthopedics Handbook by This handbook provides a comprehensive, yet succinct guide to the evaluation, diagnosis, and treatment of various musculoskeletal/extremity disorders in the emergency department. It covers a wide variety of common patient presentations, advanced imaging interpretation, proper anesthetic implementation, and associated extremity reduction/immobilization techniques. Richly illustrated, it assists clinical decision making with high-yield facts, essential figures, and step-by-step procedural instruction. Emergency Orthopedics Handbook is an indispensable resource for all medical professionals that manage emergent orthopedic, musculoskeletal, and local extremity injury care.
Publication Date: 2019-04-13
The Female Athlete by This new International Olympic Committee (IOC) handbook covers the science, medicine and psycho-social aspects of females in sports at all levels of competition. Each chapter focuses on the specific issues that female athletes confront both on and off the field, such as bone health, nutritional recommendations, exercise/competition during menstruation and pregnancy, and much more. Fully endorsed by the IOC and drawing upon the experience of an international team of expert contributors, no other publication deals with the topic in such a concise and complete manner. The Female Athlete is recommended for all health care providers for women and girl athletes internationally for all sports and all levels of competition. It is a valuable resource for medical doctors, physical and occupational therapists, nutritionists, and sports scientists as well as coaches, personal trainers and athletes.
Publication Date: 2014-12-03
CURRENT Diagnosis & Treatment Orthopedics, Sixth Edition by Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Fully updated and enhanced, this popular Lange book provides the most current, high-yield information available on orthopedic disorders and diseases Packed with 500 images and meticulously organized for high-impact learning, CURRENT Diagnosis & Treatment Orthopedics, Sixth Edition, emphasizes the major diagnostic features of musculoskeletal disease states, the nature of the diseases, the workup required for diagnosis, and all treatment options. It includes pathophysiology, epidemiology, and laboratory and imaging studies to help readers accurate diagnose patients and fully understand treatments. Chapters cover general considerations and imaging in surgery; musculoskeletal trauma, adult reconstructive, hand, foot, ankle, and pediatric surgery; sports medicine; spinal disorders, diseases, and injuries; musculoskeletal oncology; amputations; and rehabilitation and geriatric medicine. Perfect for surgical and emergency medicine residents, orthopedic surgery fellows, internal medicine and family practitioners, medical students, PAs, and nurse practitioner students, CURRENT Diagnosis & Treatment Orthopedics, Sixth Edition, provides the knowledge and insights you need to deliver safe, effective treatment to every patient. * NEW chapter on imaging in orthopedics
Publication Date: 2021-06-17
Essential Orthopaedics by The vast majority of orthopaedic care takes place not in the orthopaedic surgeon's office or operating room but in various primary care settings. Essential Orthopaedics, 2nd Edition, provides concise, practical guidance from noted authority Dr. Mark D. Miller, along with a stellar editorial team and numerous contributors from both orthopaedics and primary care. Using a templated, bulleted format, it delivers the information you need on diagnosis, management, and appropriate referrals for adult and pediatric patients. It's the perfect, everyday orthopaedic reference for primary care physicians, physician assistants, nurse practitioners, physical therapists, and athletic trainers in the clinic or training room. Offers expert insight to help you confidently diagnose and treat sprains, fractures, arthritis and bursitis pain, and other musculoskeletal problems, or refer them when appropriate. Covers topics of high importance in orthopaedic care: anatomy and terminology, radiologic evaluation of orthopaedic conditions, principles of fracture management, and special considerations for the obese, the elderly, athletes, those with comorbidities, and other patient populations. Features 40 videos covering injections, physical examinations, common procedures, and more. Includes 12 new chapters with current information on physical exam of the hip and pelvis, femoroacetabular impingement (FAI), athletic pubalgia, state-of-the-art surgical techniques, and new imaging information, particularly in the area of musculoskeletal ultrasound. Provides new ICD-10 codes for common orthopaedic conditions. Features diagnostic algorithms, specific steps for treatment, and full-color illustrations throughout. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase, which allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices
Publication Date: 2019-06-21
Reading List: American Family Physician Articles
Cimino et al. Anterior cruciate ligament injury: diagnosis, management, and prevention
Cimino F, Volk BS, Setter D. Anterior cruciate ligament injury: diagnosis, management, and prevention. Am Fam Physician. 2010 Oct 15;82(8):917-22.
Ewald, A. Adhesive capsulitis
Ewald, A. Adhesive capsulitis: a review. Am Fam Physician. 2011 Feb 15;83(4):417-22.
Black et al. Common forearm fractures in adults.
Black WS, Becker JA. Common forearm fractures in adults. Am Fam Physician. 2009 Nov 15;80(10):1096-102.
Boyd et al. Splints and casts: indications and methods.
Boyd AS, Benjamin HJ, Asplund C. Splints and casts: indications and methods. Am Fam Physician. 2009 Sep 1;80(5):491-9.
Van Hook et al. Ambulatory devices for chronic gait disorders in the elderly
Van Hook FW, Demonbreun D, Weiss BD. Ambulatory devices for chronic gait disorders in the elderly. Am Fam Physician. 2003 Apr 15;67(8):1717-24.
Chat with a Librarian